Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Fertile Public Library SF ELL (Text) 33500013282645 New Available -
Fosston Public Library SF ELL (Text) 33500013282637 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 1250197244
  • ISBN: 9781250197245
  • Physical Description: 526 pages : maps ; 22 cm.
    print
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Tor, [2020]

Content descriptions

General Note: "A Tom Doherty Associates Book."
Summary, etc.: "Princess Sun has finally come of age. Growing up in the shadow of her mother, Eirene, has been no easy task. The legendary queen-marshal did what everyone thought impossible: expel the invaders and build Chaonia into a magnificent republic, one to be respected--and feared. But the cutthroat ambassador corps and conniving noble houses have never ceased to scheme--and they have plans that need Sun to be removed as heir, or better yet, dead. To survive, the princess must rely on her wits and companions: her biggest rival, her secret lover, and a dangerous prisoner of war."--Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 June #1
    *Starred Review* In this exhilarating series opener, Princess Sun is eager to follow in her mother's footsteps by making the Republic of Chaonia a major player among the star systems connected by an ancient network that allows efficient space travel. Surrounded by loyal companions drawn from the leading families of Chaonia, Sun has the ambition to succeed in a place where constant surveillance—often in the form of popular broadcast Channel Idol—is the norm. But the queen-marshal seems unable to give her daughter praise, much less a military command. When one of Sun's companions is killed and replaced with his sister Persephone, subsequent events indicate treachery targeting Sun. Sun, Persephone, and the rest of their group have the opportunity to prove themselves during a daring attack from a rival power—they just have to survive. Elliott's addictive, character-driven space drama is a stirring found family narrative grounded in competence. Told from multiple viewpoints, the fast-paced narrative includes high-stakes space battles, political intrigue, clones, assassination attempts, sea monsters, lovers, creepy telepaths, and antagonistic empires in one irresistible package. Fans of Lois McMaster Bujold and N.K. Jemisin will find this a candidate for instant re-reading as soon as the last page is turned. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Kate Elliott has been writing science fiction and fantasy for 30 years, after bursting onto the scene with Jaran. She is best known for her Crown of Stars epic fantasy series and the New York Times bestselling YA fantasy series Court of Fives. Elliott's particular focus is immersive world building & centering women in epic stories of adventure, amid transformative cultural change. She lives in Hawaii, where she paddles outrigger canoes & spoils her schnauzer.

Subject: Space flight
Princesses
Nobility
Imaginary wars and battles
Alliances
FICTION / Science Fiction / Action & Adventure
FICTION / Science Fiction / Space Opera
Imaginary wars and battles Fiction
Alliances Fiction
Nobility Fiction
Courts and courtiers Fiction
Princesses Fiction
Genre: Space operas (Fiction)
Science fiction.
Science fiction.
Science fiction.
Fiction.
Action and adventure fiction.
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources