Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Fertile Public Library HEG (Text) 33500013285283 New Available -
Fosston Public Library HEG (Text) 33500013285291 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250156822
  • ISBN: 1250156823
  • Physical Description: 274 pages ; 25 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Flatiron Books, 2020.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"From beloved bestselling author Ursula Hegi, a new novel about three mothers, set on the shores of the Nordsee, perfect for fans of Water for Elephants and The Light Between Oceans. In the summer of 1878, the Ludwig Zirkus has come to the island Nordstrand in Germany. Big-bellied girls rush from St. Margaret's Home for Pregnant Girls, thrilled to see the parade and the show, followed by the Sisters who care for them. The Old Women and Men, competing to be crowned as the island's Oldest Person, watch, thinking they have seen it all. But after the show, a Hundred-Year Wave roars from the Nordsee and claims three young children. Three mothers are on the beach when it happens: Lotte, whose children are lost; Sabine, a Zirkus seamstress with her grown daughter; and Tilli, still just a child herself, who will give birth later that day at St. Margaret's. And all three will end up helping each other more than they ever could have anticipated. As full of joy and beauty as it is of pain, and told with the luminous power that has made Ursula Hegi a beloved bestselling author for decades, The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls is a shattering portrait of marriage and motherhood, and of the ways in which women hold each other up in the face of heartbreak"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 May #2
    Perennial book-club favorite Hegi's (Children and Fire, 2011) compassionately observant new novel takes place on Nordstrand island in North Frisia, Germany, where the line between fact and centuries-old myth can feel as blurred as that between sea and sky. The offbeat characters enhance the quasi-dreamlike effect, but the scenarios they face are starkly real. After a giant wave sweeps her three oldest children into the Nordsee in 1878, Lotte Jansen withdraws from life and from her infant son, Wilhelm. While Lotte's husband, Kalle, a toymaker, runs away with a traveling circus, Wilhelm is nursed by Tilli, an 11-year-old resident of the St. Margaret's Home for Pregnant Girls, whose own baby is adopted at birth. The nuns at St. Margaret's are an unorthodox bunch who instruct their young charges in art and scholarly pursuits. Meanwhile, Sabine, the circus' seamstress, seeks a husband for her cognitively impaired daughter. The plot ambles along while threading together the stories of the women, who have the heaviest burdens to bear. Their emotional hardships are satisfyingly leavened by softer moments of romantic and familial love. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Ursula Hegi is the author of over a dozen books, including Stones from the River, Children and Fire, Floating in My Mother’s Palm, and Tearing the Silence, and has received more than thirty grants and awards. She teaches in the Stony Brook MFA program and lives with her family on Long Island.

Subject: Pregnant women > Fiction.
Mothers > Fiction.
Circus > Fiction.
Maternity homes > Fiction.
Ocean waves > Fiction.
Children > Death > Fiction.
Female friendship > Fiction.
Circus > Fiction.
FICTION / Literary.
FICTION / Historical / General.
FICTION / Women.
Genre: Domestic fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Historical fiction.
Historical fiction.

Additional Resources