Catalog

Curbside Pick-Up is available in all locations and book drops are open.

Record Details

Catalog Search



The wife [electronic resource] / Alafair Burke.

Burke, Alafair. (Author). Sands, Xe. (Added Author).

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780062798473 (sound recording)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource (7 audio files) : digital
  • Edition: Unabridged.

Content descriptions

Participant or Performer Note:
Narrator: Xe Sands.
Summary, etc.:
His Scandal Her Secret From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10—in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself. When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother's home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past. Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look at the man she married. And when she is asked to defend Jason in court, she realizes that her loyalty to her husband could unearth old secrets. This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke's Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?
Reproduction Note:
Electronic reproduction. New York : HarperAudio, 2018. Requires OverDrive Listen (file size: N/A KB) or OverDrive app (file size: 229657 KB).
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2018 February #1
    Angela Powell's well-ordered, comfortable life—with husband Jason and teenage son Spencer—is coming apart. It was a life remade, thanks to NYU economics professor Jason, after then-teenager Angela was held captive for three years before her kidnapper was killed, and she escaped with a baby boy. Now, as she continues to keep her past hidden, Jason has become a media star, with a best-selling book and his own consulting firm, in addition to his tenured NYU gig. And then the trouble starts. First an intern at Jason's firm makes an accusation, followed by a more serious charge from Kerry Lynch, with whom Jason has been working as well as having an affair. High-powered defense attorney Olivia Randall (introduced in The Ex, 2016) defends Jason, while his case alternately looks better and worse as his secrets are revealed. But the wife has secrets, too, and tenacious NYPD detective Corrine Duncan keeps digging into them. With plot twists and turns to the very end, this is a tantalizing follow-up to The Ex that will keep pages turning. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Subject: Fiction.
Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources