Catalog

Curbside Pick-Up is available in all locations and book drops are open.

Record Details

Catalog Search



Sharks in the time of saviors [electronic resource] / Kawai Strong Washburn.

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780374720773 (electronic bk)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
Sharks in the Time of Saviors is a groundbreaking debut novel that folds the legends of Hawaiian gods into an engrossing family saga; a story of exile and the pursuit of salvation from Kawai Strong Washburn. In 1995 Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, on a rare family vacation, seven-year-old Nainoa Flores falls overboard a cruise ship into the Pacific Ocean. When a shiver of sharks appears in the water, everyone fears for the worst. But instead, Noa is gingerly delivered to his mother in the jaws of a shark, marking his story as the stuff of legends. Nainoa's family, struggling amidst the collapse of the sugarcane industry, hails his rescue as a sign of favor from ancient Hawaiian gods—a belief that appears validated after he exhibits puzzling new abilities. But as time passes, this supposed divine favor begins to drive the family apart: Nainoa, working now as a paramedic on the streets of Portland, struggles to fathom the full measure of his expanding abilities; further north in Washington, his older brother Dean hurtles into the world of elite college athletics, obsessed with wealth and fame; while in California, risk-obsessed younger sister Kaui navigates an unforgiving academic workload in an attempt to forge her independence from the family's legacy. When supernatural events revisit the Flores family in Hawai'i—with tragic consequences—they are all forced to reckon with the bonds of family, the meaning of heritage, and the cost of survival.
Reproduction Note:
Electronic reproduction. New York : MCD, 2020. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 1185 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB).
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 February #1
    Augie and Malia are raising three children in their native Hawaii: basketball prodigy Dean, free spirit Kaui, and miracle son Nainoa, who fell into the ocean during a boat ride in childhood, and was lifted and saved from the water by a pack of benevolent sharks. His salvation becomes the stuff of legend. People travel from far and wide to harness his energy and good fortune for their own healing. Later in life, Nainoa becomes a paramedic, repeatedly conjuring his mythical magic to revive the unrevivable. After Nainoa is unable to save a young mother and child, he faces an existential crisis and returns to Hawaii to soul search. Alone, he journeys deep into the jungle and doesn't return. With Nainoa missing, the rest of the family struggles to understand their dynamic as a unit and their identities on their own. Perfect for fans of Little Fires Everywhere (2017), by Celeste Ng, Washburn's debut is an unforgettable tale of family, heartbreak, and healing, and his prose is lyrical and fresh. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Kawai Strong Washburn was born and raised on the Hamakua coast of the Big Island of Hawai‘i. His work has appeared in Best American Nonrequired Reading, McSweeney’s, and Electric Literature’s Recommended Reading, among other outlets. He was a 2015 Tin House Summer Scholar and 2015 Bread Loaf work-study scholar. Today, he lives with his wife and daughters in Minneapolis. Sharks in the Time of Saviors is his first novel.

Subject: Fiction.
Fantasy.
Literature.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources