Catalog

Curbside Pick-Up is available in all locations and book drops are open.

Record Details

Catalog Search



Summer darlings [electronic resource]. Brooke Lea Foster.

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781982115043 (electronic bk)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
Set during the splendid summer days of 1960s Martha's Vineyard, this page-turning debut novel pulls back the curtain on one mysterious and wealthy family as seen through the eyes of their nanny—a college student who, while falling in love on the elegant island, is also forced to reckon with the dark underbelly of privilege. In 1962, coed Heddy Winsome leaves her hardscrabble Irish Brooklyn neighborhood behind and ferries to glamorous Martha's Vineyard to nanny for one of the wealthiest families on the island. But as she grows enamored with the alluring and seemingly perfect young couple and chases after their two mischievous children, Heddy discovers that her academic scholarship at Wellesley has been revoked, putting her entire future at risk. Determined to find her place in the couple's wealthy social circles, Heddy nurtures a romance with the hip surfer down the beach while wondering if the better man for her might be a quiet, studious college boy instead. But no one she meets on the summer island—socialite, starlet, or housekeeper—is as picture-perfect as they seem, and she quickly learns that the right last name and a house in a tony zip-code may guarantee privilege, but that rarely equals happiness. Rich with the sights and sounds of midcentury Martha's Vineyard, Brooke Lea Foster's debut novel Summer Darlings promises entrance to a rarefied world, for readers who enjoyed Tigers in Red Weather or The Summer Wives.
Reproduction Note:
Electronic reproduction. New York : Gallery Books, 2020. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 3756 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 May #2
    Because of a recommendation from her college roommate, Heddy Winsome is hired by the glamorous Ted and Jean-Rose as their nanny for the summer. Martha's Vineyard in 1962 is the place to be, and her bosses are initially the picture of a perfect couple—but soon their true personalities emerge. Jean-Rose is the ruthless leader of her circle of high society ladies and is vicious to those who don't measure up. Ted, hiding a major secret, alternates between being distant and abusive to his family and to Heddy. Luckily, a movie star summers on the island and takes Heddy under her wing, and soon she finds herself in the midst of a love triangle between Ash, a handsome surfer and real estate developer, and the rich but bohemian Sullivan. The romantic entanglements and the scandalous exploits of the rich and entitled makes this suitable for a quick beach read, though some of the period-appropriate language and attitudes the author uses may take some readers out of the story and dampen their excitement for the characters. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Subject: Fiction.
Historical Fiction.
Literature.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources