Catalog

Curbside Pick-Up is available in all locations and book drops are open.

Record Details

Catalog Search



The final six [electronic resource]. Alexandra Monir.

Monir, Alexandra. (Author).
Series: Final six ; 1

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780062658968 (electronic bk)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
Set in the near future, this action-packed YA novel—already optioned by Sony Pictures—will take readers out of this world and on a quest to become one of six teens sent on a mission to Jupiter's moon. This is the next must-read for fans of Illuminae and The Martian. When Leo and Naomi are drafted, along with twenty-two of the world's brightest teenagers, into the International Space Training Camp, their lives are forever changed. Overnight, they become global celebrities in contention for one of the six slots to travel to Europa—Jupiter's moon—and establish a new colony, leaving their planet forever. With Earth irreparably damaged, the future of the human race rests on their shoulders. For Leo, an Italian championship swimmer, this kind of purpose is a reason to go on after losing his family. But Naomi, an Iranian-American science genius, is suspicious of the ISTC and the fact that a similar mission failed under mysterious circumstances, killing the astronauts onboard. She fears something equally sinister awaiting the Final Six beneath Europa's surface. In this cutthroat atmosphere, surrounded by strangers from around the world, Naomi finds an unexpected friend in Leo. As the training tests their limits, Naomi and Leo's relationship deepens with each life-altering experience they encounter. But it's only when the finalists become fewer and their destinies grow nearer that the two can fathom the full weight of everything at stake: the world, the stars, and their lives.
Target Audience Note:
Text Difficulty 4 - Text Difficulty 5
UG/Upper grades (9th-12)
910 Lexile.
6.4 ATOS Level
Reproduction Note:
Electronic reproduction. New York : HarperTeen, 2018. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 783 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2017 November #2
    In a future Earth hopelessly devastated by climactic disasters, all scientific resources are diverted to the mission of colonizing a new planet. The brightest of Earth's remaining young adults are drafted and forced to compete against one another to prove their value to the mission. Leo is desperate to escape Earth, while Naomi wants to stay home and take her chances, mistrustful of scientists ready to risk anything to prevent humanity's extinction. As liftoff nears, the two teens must turn to each other for solace and survival. The book's opening grips the reader with powerful, emotional descriptions of the climate's toll. Soon, though, the story moves to a less striking laboratory-dormitory setting, along with a more familiar drama. The emerging conspiracy plot holds few surprises, although the outcome of the mission is left in suspense for a potential sequel. Considering that the book has already been optioned for film, cinematic action and an appealing romance are a given, and its multinational, multiethnic characters are a bonus. Copyright 2017 Booklist Reviews.

Subject: Young Adult Fiction.
Romance.
Science Fiction.
Young Adult Literature.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources