Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 0 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

4 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Detroit Lakes Public Library WOO (Text) 33500013299284 New On holds shelf -
Fertile Public Library WOO (Text) 33500013299276 New Checked out 12/11/2020

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780593086438
  • ISBN: 0593086430
  • ISBN: 9780593086445
  • ISBN: 0593086449
  • Physical Description: 262 pages ; 21 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Riverhead Books, 2020.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"For nearly four decades, lifelong friends Jude, Wendy, Adele, and Sylvie have seen each other through romances, child-rearing, changing careers, divorces, medical recoveries, and general aging. But now Sylvie has died, and the three remaining women are tasked with cleaning out her beach house before it's sold. Thrust together In this weathered old house on the ocean, where the ghosts of their younger selves compete with their current realities, the women ponder a collective lifetime of loves and grievances, disappointments and successes, and ultimately, how a life can change in a single unexpected instant - or over the course of a weekend"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 August #1
    Wendy, Adele, Jude, and Sylvie's unlikely friendship began when they were in their thirties. Now, fifty years later, Sylvie has died, which brings the other three women back together over the Christmas holiday to sort through Sylvie's beachside home. Widowed Wendy brings her elderly dog, Finn, along for the ride—they are dependent on each other, and Wendy sees herself reflected in his deteriorating body. Adele's longtime partner has left her and her stage career has evaporated, leaving her feeling vulnerable and adrift, while persnickety Jude's cold, imperious demeanor hides a deep longing for comfort and order. The house is a mess, and the women seem to be coming together out of habit more than friendship, and petty bickering and personality conflicts abound. When a long-held secret is revealed during a night of drunken revelry, the precarious friendship is further endangered. Third-person narration gives the reader equal time inside each character's head, exposing their insecurities and vulnerabilities. Each woman is both endearing and exasperating—there are no heroes or villains, only ordinary, flawed people. This insightful character study will appeal to fans of Sue Miller and Anne Tyler. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Charlotte Wood is the author of six novels and two books of nonfiction. Her 2016 novel The Natural Way of Things won the Stella Prize, the Indie Book of the Year, and the Novel of the Year in her native Australia, and was joint winner of the Australian Prime Minister&;s Literary Award for Fiction. Her 2020 novel, The Weekend, is an international bestseller, shortlisted for the Stella Prize and longlisted for the Miles Franklin Award. In 2019 Wood was made a Member of the Order of Australia for significant services to literature.

Subject: Older women > Fiction.
Death > Fiction.
Female friendship > Fiction.
Interpersonal relations > Fiction.
Self-realization in women > Fiction.
Self-perception > Fiction.
Genre: Domestic fiction.

Additional Resources