Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 0 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

2 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Fertile Public Library M HAI (Text) 33500013297676 New Checked out 12/28/2020
Fosston Public Library M HAI (Text) 33500013297668 New Checked out 12/14/2020

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250257925
  • ISBN: 1250257921
  • Physical Description: pages ; cm.
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Minotaur Books, 2020.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"Spunky southern private investigator Sarah Booth Delaney tackles a string of strange accidents while celebrating the holiday season in Carolyn Haines's cozy A Garland of Bones Sarah Booth has traded in hosting this Christmas season for a road trip with her besties. Each little Delta town has a special Christmas activity, and Sarah Booth's bff and detective partner, Tinkie, has arranged to rent a limo for the gang and drive to Columbus, MS, to stay in a B&B. Visions of Christmas shopping, parade floats, and romantic rendezvous are already dancing in their heads. But Christmas cheer soon turns to Christmas fear when, at one event after another, people keep getting hurt. Christmas karaoke gets ugly when one singer's microphone gives her an electric shock. A party during a historic home tour ends with a fall down the stairs for one of Columbus's most disreputable "players." And when the woman who hires Sarah Booth to find the villain behind the so-called accidents is nearly killed with an arrow during a holiday mumming, Sarah Booth knows something more sinister is at work. The Christmas bells are ringing hauntingly in Columbus this year, and Sarah Booth and Tinkie-with a little help from hunky Sheriff Coleman Peters, of course-are determined to catch the wrong-doers and ensure they receive nothing but coal in their stockings"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 October #1
    Christmas has come again to the Mississippi Delta. Tinkie Bellcase Richmond, co-owner with Sarah Booth Delaney of a private investigation firm, treats her closest friends to a road trip to Columbus, Mississippi. Looking forward to the week of celebration and shopping, they plunge into the festivities, beginning with a holiday karaoke night. Just before Sarah Booth is to take the stage, the mike shorts, nearly electrocuting the previous singer. The next day, the tree-lighting ceremony is interrupted when cement is poured into a Cadillac convertible. The group's B&B hostess assures them it's just a prank staged by a group of society women. But when the host at a gala party at a historic mansion tumbles—or was pushed?—down the stairs, his wife hires Tinkie and Sarah Booth to get to the bottom of the mayhem. They use their own skills and those of their friends, along with subtle direction from Jiffy, the Delaney family "haint" (a specifically southern variety of ghost) to get matters sorted. Fans of Carolyn Hart's Bailey Ruth Raeburn and Nancy Atherton's Aunt Dimity series will enjoy meeting another supernatural being seen only by the heroine. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

CAROLYN HAINES is the author of the Sarah Booth Delaney Mysteries. She is the recipient of both the Harper Lee Distinguished Writing Award and the Richard Wright Award for Literary Excellence. Born and raised in Mississippi, she now lives in Semmes, Alabama on a farm with more dogs, cats, and horses than she can possibly keep track of.

Subject: Delaney, Sarah Booth (Fictitious character) > Fiction.
Women private investigators > Fiction.
Delaney, Sarah Booth (Fictitious character)
Women private investigators.
Genre: Fiction.
Mystery fiction.

Additional Resources