Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 0 of 3 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

2 current holds with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Breckenridge Public Library NOR (Text) 33500013344437 New In transit -
Detroit Lakes Public Library NOR (Text) 33500013342530 New Checked out 03/12/2021
Thief River Falls Public Library NOR (Text) 35500006439218 New Checked out 03/02/2021

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781635575422
  • ISBN: 1635575427
  • Physical Description: 261 pages ; 25 cm
  • Publisher: New York : Bloomsbury Publishing, 2021.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"The Crucible meets True Grit in this riveting adventure story of a fugitive girl, a mysterious gang of robbers, and their dangerous mission to transform the Wild West. In the year of our Lord 1894, I became an outlaw. The day of her wedding, 17 year old Ada's life looks good; she loves her husband, and she loves working as an apprentice to her mother, a respected midwife. But after a year of marriage and no pregnancy, in a town where barren women are routinely hanged as witches, her survival depends on leaving behind everything she knows. She joins up with the notorious Hole in the Wall Gang, a band of outlaws led by a preacher-turned-robber known to all as the Kid. Charismatic, grandiose, and mercurial, the Kid is determined to create a safe haven for outcast women. But to make this dream a reality, the Gang hatches a treacherous plan that may get them all killed. And Ada must decide whether she's willing to risk her life for the possibility of a new kind of future for them all. Featuring an irresistibly no-nonsense, courageous, and determined heroine, Outlawed dusts off the myth of the old West and reignites the glimmering promise of the frontier with an entirely new set of feminist stakes. Anna North has crafted a pulse-racing, page-turning saga about the search for hope in the wake of death, and for truth in a climate of small-mindedness and fear"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 November #1
    North's feminist Western novel features Ada, a young woman who has a good life going for her. She's the apprentice to her mother, a midwife, and married to a man she loves. But after a year of marriage, she still isn't pregnant, and Ada lives in a time and environment where barren women are fiercely distrusted. She ends up bringing her skills as a doctor to the Hole in the Wall Gang, a band of outcast queer or barren women and gender-non-conforming folk. This is a lovely slow draw in the world of the Old West, a story about the people who don't belong, portraying a realistic, close-minded world that only accepts women willing to fit into a specific mold and that stigmatizes any woman who cannot give birth. It's exciting to read a Western tale that features such a range of women and queer characters, and Ada herself is a bold protagonist whose desire to learn more about the female reproductive system and how it actually functions runs fiercely in her veins. North's new book is perfect for fans of Sarah Gailey's Upright Women Wanted (2020). Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Anna North is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop and the author of two previous novels, America Pacifica and The Life and Death of Sophie Stark, which received a Lambda Literary Award in 2016. She has been a writer and editor at Jezebel, BuzzFeed, Salon, and the New York Times, and she is now a senior reporter at Vox. She grew up in Los Angeles and lives in Brooklyn.

Subject: Outlaws > Fiction.
Outcasts > Fiction.
Midwives > Fiction.
Infertility > Fiction.
Pregnancy > Social aspects > Fiction.
Influenza > Fiction.
Epidemics > Fiction.
Paranormal fiction.
West (U.S.) > Fiction.
Genre: Western fiction.
Western stories.
Action and adventure fiction.
Western fiction.

Additional Resources