Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



A question mark is half a heart / Sofia Lundberg ; translated by Nicholas Smalley.

Lundberg, Sofia, 1974- (author.). Smalley, Nichola, (translator.).

Available copies

  • 1 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Bagley Public Library LUN (Text) 33500013371190 New Available -
Detroit Lakes Public Library LUN (Text) 33500013371182 New Checked out 05/03/2021

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781328473028
  • ISBN: 1328473023
  • Physical Description: 310 pages ; 24 cm
  • Edition: First U.S. edition.
  • Publisher: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2021.

Content descriptions

General Note:
Translated from the Swedish.
Summary, etc.:
"From the author of The Red Address Book Sofia Lundberg comes a captivating story about overcoming shame and guilt, about finding oneself and the truth-and in doing so, learning how to love"-- Provided by publisher.
By age 50, Elin Boals has created for herself a perfect life: her wildly successful business as Manhattan's preeminent fashion photographer is flourishing. Her handsome, patient husband is devoted to her; her teenaged daughter, Alice, has been accepted to the ballet academy of her dreams. But then Elin receives an innocuous looking envelope. Folded inside is a star-chart, with an address written by a familiar hand. Shaken, Elin begins to have startling flashbacks, to a life very different from the childhood in a Paris bookstore that she has so lovingly recounted to Alice. In these images, a poverty-stricken little girl cares for her two ragged baby brothers, laughing with her family on the good days, sheltering them from her mother's sadness and her father's wrath on the bad days. Elin also remembers vivid walks with a young classmate, Fredrik, whose steadfast friendship and starlit confidences shaped her young life. As Elin becomes consumed by these memories, though, her New York life begins to crumble dramatically. Finally, her family's troubling questions drive her to face, at last, the brutal secret from her past. At once a heartwarming family story and a page-turning mystery, A Question Mark Is Half a Heart traces a surprising journey across continents to reconciliation, and toward finding a true sense of home.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2021 February #2
    The latest translation of Swedish author Lundberg's work focuses on Elin, a model-turned-fashion-photographer whose unresolved trauma echoes through her adult life. Her marriage is crumbling, and her relationship with her teenage daughter is tense. When she receives a letter from a childhood friend, haunting memories return to the surface, further threatening the life she has carefully built. Raised with her two younger brothers by an overwhelmed single mother, Elin's only comforts are Fredrik, her best friend; Aina, a kindhearted neighbor; and Gerd, a kindly shop owner. The family struggles with poverty until a surprise inheritance provides a sudden windfall, but money doesn't improve Elin's situation. As a teenager, Elin flees her home in search of a fresh start, but, as an adult, she learns that forgiveness is the only way she can be free. Elin is a complex character with a compelling story, and Lundberg avoids the obvious resolutions that readers may expect in favor of a deeper exploration of the meaning of love, forgiveness, and family. This satisfying novel will appeal to fans of Lisa Duffy and Patti Callahan Henry. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

SOFIA LUNDBERG is a journalist and former magazine editor. Her debut novel, The Red Address Book, was published in 32 territories worldwide. She lives in Stockholm with her son.

Subject: Secrecy > Fiction.
Life change events > Fiction.
Memory > Fiction.
Women photographers > Fiction.
Reminiscing in old age > Fiction.
Manhattan (New York, N.Y.) > Fiction.
FICTION / Women.
FICTION / Cultural Heritage.
FICTION / Romance / Contemporary.
Romance fiction.
Genre: Domestic fiction.
Novels.
Swedish fiction > Translations into English.

Additional Resources