Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 0 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

5 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Climax Public Library GAR (Text) 33500013385315 New Checked out 05/27/2021
Lake Park LINK Site GAR (Text) 33500013385307 New Checked out 05/20/2021

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780593183922
  • ISBN: 0593183924
  • Physical Description: pages cm
  • Publisher: New York : Dutton, [2021]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"Following three lonely strangers in a rural Oregon town, each working through grief and life's curveballs, who are brought together by happenstance on a local honeybee farm where they find surprising friendship, healing--and maybe even a second chance--just when they least expect it"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2021 March #1
    *Starred Review* It would not take a trained therapist (although she has one) to determine that Alice Holtzman is desperately seeking a new community. At 44, she has already lost both parents and her husband in fairly close succession, and now even her long-standing job at the county planning department is in jeopardy. So Alice seeks solace in the bees she is raising, finding permanence in their supremely structured lives that eludes her own. She'd like to expand her nascent honey business, but she'll need help. Enter Jake and Harry, two physically and emotionally damaged young men who are seeking the very same sense of belonging and stability. Jake was left paraplegic during his senior year of high school after a girl-impressing stunt went horribly wrong, while newly homeless Harry is trying to atone for the misguided, friend-impressing caper that put him jail. There are quirks to be worked out as these three fragile beings find common ground caring for Alice's bees and each other, but their journey is rich with possibility. Both buoyant and bittersweet, Garvin's impressive first novel, a luscious paean to the bonds of friendship and limitations of family, is the kind of comforting yet thought-provoking tale that will appeal to fans of Anne Tyler and Sue Miller. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.
  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2021 March #1
    *Starred Review* It would not take a trained therapist (although she has one) to determine that Alice Holtzman is desperately seeking a new community. At 44, she has already lost both parents and her husband in fairly close succession, and now even her long-standing job at the county planning department is in jeopardy. So Alice seeks solace in the bees she is raising, finding permanence in their supremely structured lives that eludes her own. She'd like to expand her nascent honey business, but she'll need help. Enter Jake and Harry, two physically and emotionally damaged young men who are seeking the very same sense of belonging and stability. Jake was left paraplegic during his senior year of high school after a girl-impressing stunt went horribly wrong, while newly homeless Harry is trying to atone for the misguided, friend-impressing caper that put him jail. There are quirks to be worked out as these three fragile beings find common ground caring for Alice's bees and each other, but their journey is rich with possibility. Both buoyant and bittersweet, Garvin's impressive first novel, a luscious paean to the bonds of friendship and limitations of family, is the kind of comforting yet thought-provoking tale that will appeal to fans of Anne Tyler and Sue Miller. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Eileen Garvin is a beekeeper and writer living in Hood River, Oregon. Her memoir, How to be a Sister, was published in 2010. The Music of Bees is her debut novel.

Subject: Bee culture > Fiction.
Friendship > Fiction.
Farm life > Fiction.
Grief > Fiction.
Self-actualization (Psychology) > Fiction.
Bee culture
Farm life
Friendship
Grief
Self-actualization (Psychology)
Genre: Fiction

Additional Resources