Record Details

Catalog Search

Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Breckenridge Public Library FLA (Text) 33500013408133 New Available -
Moorhead Public Library FLA (Text) 33500013408141 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780593319604
  • ISBN: 0593319605
  • Physical Description: 266 pages ; 22 cm
  • Publisher: New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2021.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"From the author of the Booker Prize-winning The Narrow Road to the Deep North comes a wrenching novel of family, climate change, and the resilience of the human spirit--an elegy to our disappearing world. In a world of perennial fire and growing extinctions, Anna's aged mother is dying--if her three children would just allow it. Condemned by their pity to living, subjected to increasingly desperate medical interventions, she instead turns her focus to her hospital window, through which she escapes into visions of horror and delight. When Anna's finger vanishes and a few months later her knee disappears, Anna too feels the pull of the window. She begins to see that all around her others are similarly vanishing, though no one else notices. All Anna can do is keep her mother alive, stay the course that she and her brothers have set. But the window keeps opening wider, taking Anna and the reader ever deeper into an eerily gorgeous story about hope and love, hospital beds and orange-bellied parrots, beauty and solitude and regret. An ember storm of a novel, The Living Sea of Waking Dreams lays bare the interconnectedness of humans and the natural world, and makes an impassioned plea to avert our shared fate"-- Provided by publisher.

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2021 April #2
    *Starred Review* Flanagan (First Person, 2018), winner of the Man Booker Prize for The Narrow Road to the Deep North (2014), uses his latest novel to demand action on the climate crisis. Anna is an architect whose mother, Francie, is nearing the end of her life in Hobart, Tasmania. Anna and her brother Terzo resolve to keep their mother alive against the wishes of their failed artist brother Tommy (the only sibling still in Hobart), medical professionals, and their mother. But then one of Anna's fingers suddenly disappears, and then one knee inexplicably goes missing. She learns that such vanishings are happening across the country, yet no one is speaking of them. Meanwhile, Australia is burning and the updates on Anna's social media feed provide a constant low hum of horror, making the one constant in Anna's life keeping her mother alive. The analogy between the life-support system used to sustain Francie and the current economic system perpetuating environmentally destructive industries may be obvious, and Flanagan's point is not subtle. Unless radical changes are made, we face a bleak, unimaginable world in the near future. Like Richard Powers' The Overstory (2018), this is a timely, unforgettable work of climate fiction, unrelenting in its focus on the horrors of climate change, but one that also offers some hope. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

RICHARD FLANAGAN's novels Death of a River Guide, The Sound of One Hand Clapping, Gould's Book of Fish, The Unknown Terrorist, Wanting, The Narrow Road to the Deep North, and First Person are published in forty-two countries. He was awarded the Booker Prize for The Narrow Road to the Deep North, and the Commonwealth Prize for Gould's Book of Fish. He lives in Tasmania.

Subject: Families > Fiction.
Terminally ill > Fiction.
Death > Fiction.
Disappearances (Parapsychology) > Fiction.
Climatic changes > Fiction.
Environmental degradation > Fiction.
FICTION / Nature & the Environment.
FICTION / Visionary & Metaphysical.
FICTION / Women.
Genre: Science fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Science fiction.

Additional Resources