Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 3 of 3 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Bagley Public Library Y CAP (Text) 33500013572656 New Available -
Hawley Public Library Y CAP (Text) 33500013572664 New Available -
Thief River Falls Public Library ya CAP (Text) 35500006565723 Main Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250239570
  • ISBN: 1250239575
  • Physical Description: 313 pages ; 22 cm.
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Wednesday Books, 2022.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
A year ago at the elite Marshall Summer Naval School, Margaret Moore presumably drowned herself from heartbreak, but this summer, the remaining girls from Deck Five will ensure Margaret's story is heard.
Each summer the girls of Deck Five come back to Marshall Naval School. They sail on jewel-blue waters; they march on green drill-fields; they earn sunburns and honors. They push until they break apart and heal again, stronger. Each summer Margaret and Rose and Flor and Nisreen come back to the place where they are girls, safe away from the world: sisters bound by something more than blood. But this summer everything has changed. Girls are missing and a boy is dead. It's because of Margaret Moore, the boys say. It's because of what happened that night in the storm. Margaret's friends vanish one by one, swallowed up into the lies she has told about what happened between her and a boy with the world at his feet. Can she unravel the secrets of this summer and last, or will she be pulled under by the place she once called home?
Target Audience Note:
Ages 14-18. Wednesday Books.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2022 February #1
    At the summertime Marshall Naval School, loyalty to one's Deck is all there is, and the girls of Deck Five are even more loyal than most. Last summer, Margaret knows, she betrayed the trust of the three girls who mean everything to her, and this summer all she wants to do is make things right. But though Nisreen, Flor, and Rose return bearing a love for Margaret, and one another, that's as fierce as ever, Margaret finds herself trapped in the memories of the previous summer, fixating on the boy she thought she loved and the whispers that now follow her everywhere. As the storm builds and comes for her friends, Margaret begins to wonder just how irrevocably the events of last summer changed her—and if she deserves redemption or oblivion. Capin rests this novel squarely on Margaret's haunted, increasingly anguished voice, building a narrative that purposely perplexes and offers as many questions as it answers. For readers of E. Lockhart's We Were Liars (2014), this darkly compelling mystery will hit home. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.
  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2022 February #1
    At the summertime Marshall Naval School, loyalty to one's Deck is all there is, and the girls of Deck Five are even more loyal than most. Last summer, Margaret knows, she betrayed the trust of the three girls who mean everything to her, and this summer all she wants to do is make things right. But though Nisreen, Flor, and Rose return bearing a love for Margaret, and one another, that's as fierce as ever, Margaret finds herself trapped in the memories of the previous summer, fixating on the boy she thought she loved and the whispers that now follow her everywhere. As the storm builds and comes for her friends, Margaret begins to wonder just how irrevocably the events of last summer changed her—and if she deserves redemption or oblivion. Capin rests this novel squarely on Margaret's haunted, increasingly anguished voice, building a narrative that purposely perplexes and offers as many questions as it answers. For readers of E. Lockhart's We Were Liars (2014), this darkly compelling mystery will hit home. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Hannah Capin is the author of Golden Boys Beware (originally published as Foul is Fair) and The Dead Queens Club. She lives in Tidewater Virginia.

Subject: Murder > Juvenile fiction.
Pregnancy > Juvenile fiction.
Friendship > Juvenile fiction.
Camps > Juvenile fiction.
Summer schools > Juvenile fiction.
Ghost stories.
Young adult fiction.
Detective and mystery stories.
Genre: Paranormal fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)

Additional Resources