Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 0 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

1 current hold with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Ada Public Library HOU (Text) 33500013407580 New Checked out 07/09/2021
McIntosh Public Library HOU (Text) 33500013407598 New Checked out 07/06/2021

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781538720233
  • ISBN: 153872023X
  • Physical Description: pages cm
  • Edition: First U.S.edition.
  • Publisher: New York, NY : Grand Central Publishing, 2021.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"Aileen. Maureen. Oonagh. The private lives of the Glorious Guinness Girls fascinated a nation. But privilege always has its price... Granddaughters of the first Earl of Iveagh, the three daughters of Ernest Guinness are glamorous society girls, the toast of Dublin and London. Darlings of the press, with not a care in the world. But what beautiful ruins lie behind the glass of their privileged worlds? Inspired by fascinating real events and a remarkable true story, from the turmoil of Ireland's War of Independence to the brittle glamour of 1920s London, this dramatic, richly textured reading group novel takes us into the heart of a beautiful but often painful hidden world"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2021 April #2
    Felicity "Fliss" Burke is sent to live with the Guinness family, famous and wealthy thanks to their stout empire, and is enthralled by the daughters Aileen, Maureen, and Oonagh. Growing up amidst the struggle for Irish independence, the Guinness girls are insulated by privilege from its devastation even when it engulfs Fliss' beloved brother. The Roaring Twenties brings a move to London, where Maureen spars with Aileen and continually parties with other Bright Young Things, while Fliss seeks her place in a changing world. The young women's lives are keenly observed through Fliss' steady perspective. Hourican draws parallels to modern social media darlings with endless attention-grabs, sensation-seeking, and shallowness occasionally combined with casual cruelty. As Fliss' friend observes, "They make a great show of pulling all down around them. But they have nothing to put in place of what they tear apart, and they haven't realized that yet." With undeniable appeal for fans of Julian Fellowes of Belgravia and Downton Abbey renown, Hourican's lively tale captures the spirit of the times via the buzz-worthy foibles of attractive, wealthy socialites. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Emily Hourican is a journalist and author. She has written features for the Sunday Independent for fifteen years, as well as Image magazine, Condé Nast Traveler and Woman and Home. She was also editor of three magazines. Her debut novel, The Privileged, was shortlisted for the 2016 Irish Book Awards in the Best Commercial Fiction. Emily was born in Belfast, grew up in Brussels, and went to school in University College Dublin, where she earned a Masters in English Literature. She lives in Dublin with her husband and three children.

Subject: London (England) > History > 20th century > Fiction.
London (England) > Social life and customs > 20th century > Fiction.
Ireland > History > War of Independence, 1919-1921 > Fiction.
Manners and customs.
England > London.
Ireland.
Genre: Fiction.
History.
Historical fiction.

Additional Resources