Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 1 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Breckenridge Public Library SF VAU (Text) 33500013453014 New Available -
Crookston Public Library SF VAU (Text) 33500013453006 New Checked out 10/07/2021

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780358346289
  • ISBN: 0358346282
  • Physical Description: 296 pages ; 21 cm
  • Publisher: Boston : Mariner Books/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2021.

Content descriptions

General Note:
"A John Joseph Adams book."
Summary, etc.:
"It's said that sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic, and an eccentric billionaire has set out to prove it by building an island retreat that brings the fantastic to life. In an action-packed novel for fans of Ready Player One, Carrie Vaughn asks what happens when a bunch of tech geeks and fantasy nerds don't realize the game they are now playing is for real?"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2021 June #1
    In a love letter to the fantasy and sf community, Vaughn (Kitty's Mix-Tape, 2020) geeks out in this Westworld-meets-The Lord of the Rings adventure. Addie, a skittish English professor with a traumatic background, is surprised when she's approached by "tech guru" Harris Lang to help with his latest project gone awry. Insula Mirabilis, a fantasy-themed island, has been hijacked by Lang's design team, which includes Dom, Addie's ex, who is the real reason she's there. Addie is mesmerized when all her favorite stories come to life, but the inevitable violence threatens the magic in which she sought comfort in the past. Gamers will share Addie's enthusiasm for the journey's Dungeons & Dragons–like arc, though the story and secondary characters sometimes take a back seat to fantasy and sf references, like "Oh my God, you put Ravenclaws and Slytherins in charge—that's the problem with this place!" Addie, however, is an endearing, relatable character with whom readers will sympathize. This guilty pleasure will interest readers who've come to love Vaughn's amusing writing style and strong female protagonists. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Carrie Vaughn's work includes the Philip K. Dick Award winning novel Bannerless, the New York Times Bestselling Kitty Norville urban fantasy series, over twenty novels and upwards of 100 short stories, two of which have been finalists for the Hugo Award. An Air Force brat, she survived her nomadic childhood and managed to put down roots in Boulder, Colorado. Visit her at www.carrievaughn.com.

 

Subject: Fantasy fiction.
Islands > Fiction.
Technology > Fiction.
Animals, Mythical > Fiction.
Resorts > Fiction.
Genre: Science fiction.
Fantasy fiction.
Action and adventure fiction.

Additional Resources