Record Details

Catalog Search

Available copies

  • 3 of 5 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

1 current hold with 5 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Detroit Lakes Public Library M GEO (Text) 33500013520499 New Available -
Moorhead Public Library M GEO (Text) 33500013520507 New Checked out 06/06/2022
Godel Memorial-Warren Library GEO (Text) 35500006539587 Main Available -
Thief River Falls Public Library GEO (Text) 35500006539579 Main Available -
Warroad Public Library GEO (Text) 35500006539652 Main Checked out 05/19/2022

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780593296844
  • ISBN: 0593296842
  • Physical Description: 691 pages ; 24 cm
  • Publisher: [New York] : Viking, [2022]

Content descriptions

General Note:
Series numeration from
Summary, etc.:
"Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers and Detective Inspector Thomas Lynley are back in the next Lynley novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth George. When a police detective is taken off life support after falling into a coma, only an autopsy reveals the murderous act that precipitated her death. She'd been working on a special task force within North London's Nigerian community, and Acting Detective Superintendent Thomas Lynley is assigned to the case, which has far-reaching cultural associations that have nothing to do with life as he knows it. In his pursuit of a killer determined to remain hidden, he's assisted by Detective Sergeants Barbara Havers and Winston Nkata. They must sort through the lies and the secret lives of people whose superficial cooperation masks the damage they do to one another"-- Provided by publisher.

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2021 December #1
    "Abso-bloody-lutely" good! That would be DS Barbara Havers' verdict on this one. The metaphor-mixing detective alternates between red high-tops and leopard-print trainers as she continues to subsist on junk-food fixes from her spacious purse. DI Thomas Lynley, meanwhile, continues in his quest to fill the void left by his wife's death. Havers and Linley are working a case involving a vexing problem within London's Nigerian community: despite having been made illegal in England, the practice of female genital mutilation (FGM) persists. When a female detective on a special FGM task force is murdered, Havers and Lynley investigate, along with DS Winston Nkata. This is the twenty-first entry in the series, following The Punishment She Deserves (2018), and it offers another artful entanglement of multidimensional characters. Alice Nkata, Winston's mother, stands out among the cast and provides a sharp contrast to the rest, most of whom are dysfunctional, each in his or her own way. The ending may not quite surprise the reader, but it is startling even so. A sad conclusion to an unsettling and thoroughly involving narrative. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Elizabeth George is the New York Times bestselling author of twenty psychological suspense novels, four young adult novels, one book of nonfiction, and two short-story collections. Her work has been honored with the Anthony and Agatha awards, two Edgar nominations, and both France's and Germany's first prize for crime fiction, as well as several other prestigious prizes. She lives in Washington State.

Subject: Lynley, Thomas > Fiction.
Havers, Barbara (Fictitious character) > Fiction.
Police > England > Derbyshire > Fiction.
Women detectives > Fiction.
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Immigrants > Fiction.
Nigerians > Fiction.
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Traditional
Genre: Detective and mystery fiction.
Mystery fiction.

Additional Resources