Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 0 of 1 copy available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Detroit Lakes Public Library 306.766 LIN (Text) 33500013472691 New Checked out 11/05/2021

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780316458733
  • ISBN: 0316458732
  • Physical Description: ix, 306 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York ; Little, Brown and Company, 2021.

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references (pages 285-303).
Formatted Contents Note:
The dark walks -- The factory -- The Adelphi -- The windows -- The neighbors -- The apprentice -- The borders.
Summary, etc.:
"Strobing lights and dark rooms, drag queens on counters, first kisses, last call; the gay bar has long been a place of solidarity and sexual expression. Now they are closing, a cultural demolition that has Jeremy Atherton Lin wondering: Could this spell the end of gay identity as we know it? In prose as exuberant as a hit of poppers and dazzling as a disco ball, the author embarks on a transatlantic tour of the hangouts that marked his life, with each club, pub and dive revealing itself to be a palimpsest of queer history. Gay Bar time-travels from Hollywood nights in the 1970s to a warren of cruising tunnels built beneath London in the 1770s; from chichi bars in the wake of AIDS to today's fluid queer spaces; through glory holes, into Crisco-slicked dungeons and down San Francisco alleys. Atherton Lin charts police raids and riots, posing and passing out--and a chance encounter one restless night that would change his life forever. The journey that emerges is an inquiry into the link between place and identity, inviting us to go beyond Stonewall and enter the underground"--adapted from book jacket.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 December #1
    Lin's debut combines memoir, cultural history, and academic assessment of gay bars and the role they've played in gay men's lives, specifically in the places he's called home: Los Angeles, San Francisco's Castro district, and London, where he met his future husband (referred to as Famous) and currently resides. Much of the history covers the 1960s, '70s, and '80s, when gay bars not only served as cruising spots but also as centers of political activism. Lin, however, is late to the game. Born in 1974, he is living in what the media refer to as a "post gay" world, as cities gentrify and the gay bar loses its importance in an age of Grindr and civil unions. Yet he and Famous still find freedom, fun, and sex in gay bars even as they "loitered in the fading-away. Lin's writing veers from conversational to academic, covering topics from Proust to fisting, and he remains engaging throughout. This is an excellent read-alike for Maggie Nelson's The Argonauts (2015) or tightly focused cultural histories like Tim Mohr's Burning Down the Haus (2019). Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Jeremy Atherton Lin was raised in California and now lives in London, where he studied writing at the Royal College of Art. Jeremy&;s work has been published in the White Review, Tinted Window and the Times Literary Supplement, and he has been short-listed for the Fitzcarraldo Editions Essay Prize. He is an editor at Failed States, a journal of art and writing on place.

Jeremy Atherton Lin was raised in California and now lives in London, where he studied writing at the Royal College of Art. Jeremy's work has been published in the White Review, Tinted Window and the Times Literary Supplement, and he has been short-listed for the Fitzcarraldo Editions Essay Prize. He is an editor at Failed States, a journal of art and writing on place.

Subject: Lin, Jeremy Atherton.
Homosexuality > England > London > History > 20th century.
Homosexuality > England > London > History > 21st century.
Homosexuality > California > Los Angeles > History > 20th century.
Homosexuality > California > Los Angeles > History > 21st century.
Homosexuality > California > San Francisco > History > 20th century.
Homosexuality > California > San Francisco > History > 21st century.
Gay bars > England > London > History > 20th century.
Gay bars > England > London > History > 21st century.
Gay bars > California > Los Angeles > History > 20th century.
Gay bars > California > Los Angeles > History > 21st century.
Gay bars > California > San Francisco > History > 20th century.
Gay bars > California > San Francisco > History > 21st century.
Gay bars.
Homosexuality.
California > Los Angeles.
California > San Francisco.
England > London.
Bars (LGBTQ).
Genre: History.
Personal narratives.
Personal narratives.

Additional Resources