Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Breckenridge Public Library SF KOT (Text) 33500013593280 New Available -
Moorhead Public Library SF KOT (Text) 33500013593298 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250202093
  • ISBN: 1250202094
  • Physical Description: 336 pages ; 24 cm
  • Edition: First Edition.
  • Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Press, 2022.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"New York Times bestselling author Steven Kotler's follow up to Last Tango, a near-future thriller about the evolution of empathy in the tradition of William Gibson and Neal Stephenson. Hard to say when the human species fractured exactly. Harder to say when this new talent arrived. But Lion Zorn, protagonist of Last Tango, is the first of his kind-an empathy tracker, an emotional soothsayer, with a felt sense for the future of the we. In simpler terms, he can spot cultural shifts and trends before they happen. The Devil's Dictionary finds Lion Zorn enmeshed with a strange subculture: polyamorous crypto-currency fiends with a tendency toward eco-terrorism. These crypto-eco-punks have executed the largest land grab in U.S. history, buying up huge swatches of the American west to establish the world's first mega-linkage. This unbroken tract of wild lands stretching from Yellowstone to Yukon is meant to protect biodiversity and stave off the Sixth Great Extinction, but something's rotten in Eden. Instead of saving existing species, exotic creatures unlike anything seen on Earth keep turning up. Called in to track down the origin of these exotics, Lion quickly finds himself entangled in a battle for the survival of our species"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2021 October #1
    *Starred Review* In the near future, billionaires call the shots and the Splinter divides people into two distinct allegiances, either to humanity first or to all species. Lion Zorn is a former journalist whose article about a drug called Sietch Tabr started the Splinter, with the slogan "Empathy for All." As a teenager, he underwent an emotionally charged incident that incited a mutation in his body to give him an expanded sense of empathy. Sietch Tabr took his empathic capacity to another, cross-species level. Zorn has been in hiding, but fellow em-trackers have asked him about a new drug called Evo, saying it is the Next Step. His search turns out to be a trap that places him in the middle of a war between two billionaires with different ideas of human progress. From webbed tent colonies strung from the Space Needle to vast underground habitats below the ski resorts of the Sierra Nevada Mountains, this joyride never loses steam, ending beneath the subways of Manhattan with flying snakes and peace-loving hyenas. Taking a break from writing best-selling books on the neuroscience of flow (The Art of Impossible, 2021), Kotler puts together a top-notch cyberpunk novel with authority and flair. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.
  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2021 October #1
    *Starred Review* In the near future, billionaires call the shots and the Splinter divides people into two distinct allegiances, either to humanity first or to all species. Lion Zorn is a former journalist whose article about a drug called Sietch Tabr started the Splinter, with the slogan "Empathy for All." As a teenager, he underwent an emotionally charged incident that incited a mutation in his body to give him an expanded sense of empathy. Sietch Tabr took his empathic capacity to another, cross-species level. Zorn has been in hiding, but fellow em-trackers have asked him about a new drug called Evo, saying it is the Next Step. His search turns out to be a trap that places him in the middle of a war between two billionaires with different ideas of human progress. From webbed tent colonies strung from the Space Needle to vast underground habitats below the ski resorts of the Sierra Nevada Mountains, this joyride never loses steam, ending beneath the subways of Manhattan with flying snakes and peace-loving hyenas. Taking a break from writing best-selling books on the neuroscience of flow (The Art of Impossible, 2021), Kotler puts together a top-notch cyberpunk novel with authority and flair. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

STEVEN KOTLER is a New York Times bestselling author, award-winning journalist, and Founder and Executive Director of the Flow Research Collective. He is the author of over a dozen books, including The Art of Impossible, The Rise of Superman, Abundance, and Bold. His work has been translated into over 50 languages and appeared in over 100 publications, including the New York Times Magazine, Wall Street Journal, TIME, Wired, Atlantic Monthly, and Forbes.

Subject: Cryptocurrencies > Fiction.
Corridors (Ecology) > Fiction.
Ecological reserves > Fiction.
Animals, Mythical > Fiction.
Animals, Mythical.
Corridors (Ecology)
Cryptocurrencies.
Ecological reserves.
Genre: Science fiction.
Fiction.
Science fiction.
Science fiction.
Science fiction.

Additional Resources