Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Bagley Public Library ZGH (Text) 33500013518287 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781982187422
  • ISBN: 1982187425
  • ISBN: 9781982187439
  • ISBN: 1982187433
  • Physical Description: xvii, 285 pages ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First Atria Books hardcover edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Atria Books, 2022.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"Hadi and Sama are a young Syrian couple in the throes of new love, building a life in the country that brought them together. They'd met in Cambridge, Massachusetts: he, a shell-shocked refugee of a bloody civil war; she, a passionate dreamer who'd come to America years earlier in search of new horizons. Now, they giddily await the birth of their son, a boy whose native language would be freedom and belonging. When Sama is five months pregnant, Hadi's father dies, in Amman, the night before the embassy interview that would finally reunite Hadi with his parents and deliver them from a country in crisis. Hadi flies back to the Middle East for the funeral, promising he'll be gone only a few days. On the day his flight is due to arrive in Boston, Sama decides to surprise him at the airport, eager to scoop him up and bring him back home. She waits, and waits. There are protests at Logan airport, and Hadi never shows up. What Sama doesn't yet know is that Hadi has been stopped at the border. That he's been taken away for questioning, detained in a windowless, timeless, nightmarish limbo. She does not know about the travel ban, that his legal status in the U.S., which yesterday seemed rock solid, is now in jeopardy - and with it, the chance that he'll ever step foot on U.S. soil again. Amid the protests, Sama goes into premature labor; their son, Naseem, is born, too soon, his father nowhere to be found, the future they could almost taste wrenched from their grasp in a matter of hours. Worlds apart, suspended between hope and disillusion as hours become days become weeks, Sama and Hadi yearn for a way back to each other, and to the life they'd dreamed up together. But does that life exist anymore? Was it only ever an illusion? Achingly intimate yet poignantly universal, No Land to Light On is the story of a family caught on either side of a border, fighting for freedom and home, finding both in each other, and in the tenacious faith of creatures who take flight"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2022 January #1
    Sama and Hadi, refugees from Damascus and Douma, respectively, built a lean but comfortable life for themselves in America. Walking hand-in-hand along the cobblestone streets of Boston, stopping at parks to delight in the changing leaves, and marveling at the differences and similarities between America and Syria, they feel tied to each another and share both complicated feelings about leaving their families behind and hopes for the future. When President Trump's travel ban strands Hadi overseas shortly before Sama goes into labor with their first child, the future becomes a terrifying concept to contemplate. Jumping from past to present, Zgheib (The Girls at 17 Swann Street, 2019) depicts the complex and tenuous shared journey of two full-hearted individuals. As immigrants, Sama and Hadi ache for a better life but are heartsick about what they've left behind. Poetic and unflinchingly realistic, Zgheib's voice gives life to the story of a family determined to move forward together, no matter the cost. Fans of Paulette Jiles, Ethan Joella, and Wally Lamb will adore Zgheib's latest. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Yara Zgheib&#160;is the author of the critically acclaimed&#160;<i>The Girls at 17 Swann Street</i>, which was a&#160;<i>People</i>&#160;pick for best new books and received rave reviews from&#160;<i>The</i>&#160;<i>New York Times Book Review</i>,&#160;<i>Publishers Weekly</i>,&#160;<i>Kirkus Reviews</i>,&#160;<i>Booklist</i>, and&#160;<i>Bustle</i>. She is a Fulbright scholar with a master&#8217;s degree in security studies from Georgetown University and a PhD in international affairs in diplomacy from Centre d&#8217;&#160;&#201;tudes Diplomatiques et Strat&#233;giques in Paris. Learn more at YaraZgheib.com.

Subject: Newlyweds > Fiction.
Syrians > United States > Fiction.
Refugees > Syria > Fiction.
Travel restrictions > Fiction.
Newlyweds.
Refugees.
Syrians.
Travel restrictions.
Syria.
United States.
Genre: Fiction.
Novels.
Love stories.
Novels.

Additional Resources