Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Fosston Public Library SF LYO (Text) 33500013593306 New Available -
Hawley Public Library SF LYO (Text) 33500013593314 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250175687
  • ISBN: 1250175682
  • ISBN: 9781509879632
  • ISBN: 1509879633
  • Physical Description: 528 pages ; 24 cm.
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : TOR, 2022.

Content descriptions

General Note:
"A Tom Doherty Associates book."
Summary, etc.:
"The Discord of Gods marks the epic conclusion to Jenn Lyons's Chorus of Dragons series, closing out the saga that began with The Ruin of Kings, for fans of Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss. THEIR CONFLICT COULD END THEM ALL. Relos Var's final plans to enslave the universe are on the cusp of fruition. He believes there's only one being in existence that might be able to stop him: the demon Xaltorath. As these two masterminds circle each other, neither is paying attention to the third player on the board, Kihrin. Unfortunately, keeping himself classified in the 'pawn' category means Kihrin must pretend to be everything the prophecies threatened he'd become: the destroyer of all, the sun eater, a mindless, remorseless plague upon the land. It also means finding an excuse to not destroy the people he loves (or any of the remaining Immortals) without arousing suspicion. Kihrin's goals are complicated by the fact that not all of his 'act' is one. His intentions may be sincere, but he's still being forced to grapple with the aftereffects of the corrupted magic ritual that twisted both him and the dragons. Worse, he's now tied to a body that is the literal avatar of a star--a form that is becoming increasingly, catastrophically unstable. All of which means he's running out of time. After all, some stars fade--but others explode"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2022 March #1
    *Starred Review* At the end of the fourth book of the Chorus of Dragons series (The House of Always, 2021), all that's left is to stop the plans of Xaltorath and Relos Var. Kihrin has assumed the form, powers, and memories of Vol Karoth in a desperate attempt to prevent the destruction of half the population of their world. This has all happened before, and Xaltorath, the Lord of Demons, has been able to "rewind" history to try to free the demons and overrun the world, so they must be stopped utterly. Relos Var is enacting three rituals that will end all demons, deliver the power of the Guardians for his use, and send Vol Karoth (Kihrin) through the Nythrawl Wound to seal it permanently. Teraeth, Janel, Talon, Jarith, Galen, Qown, and the host of characters, which includes demons and Immortals who have supported Kihrin throughout, know their parts and are willing to sacrifice all they love to stop those rituals. Thurvisher and Senera are on hand as well to provide their snarky footnotes. Lyons delivers thrills and surprises, including the promised chorus of dragons, to conclude this masterfully written epic. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Jenn Lyons was a graphic artist and illustrator for 20 years before working as a video game producer on projects ranging from indie projects and slot-machine games to AAA titles for EA. In 2020, she was nominated for the Astounding Award for Best New Writer. Her five-book Chorus of Dragons fantasy series began with The Ruin of Kings.

Subject: D'Mon, Kihrin (Fictitious character) > Fiction.
Imprisonment > Fiction.
Princes > Fiction.
Dragons > Fiction.
Wizards > Fiction.
Demonology > Fiction.
Imaginary wars and battles > Fiction.
Genre: Fictional Work
Novels.
Fantasy fiction.
Novels.

Additional Resources