Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 3 of 3 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Climax Public Library SIM (Text) 33500013591995 New Available -
McIntosh Public Library SIM (Text) 33500013591987 New Available -
Warroad Public Library SIM (Text) 35500006574410 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781982188771
  • ISBN: 1982188774
  • ISBN: 9781982188788
  • ISBN: 1982188782
  • Physical Description: 293 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.
  • Edition: First Atria Books hardcover edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Inc., 2022.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"In a tiny village in Italy, the self-appointed mayor (and vacuum cleaner repairman) Signor Speranza will do anything he can to save his beloved town. When he learns that the water is going to be cut off in sixty days unless he can come up with some quick cash, he tries to boost tourism by spreading a harmless rumor that major movie star Dante Rinaldi is planning to film a movie in the village. The plan works a little too well, and soon everyone wants to be a part of the fictional movie. Village butcher Signor Maestro will even invest in the film - if Signor Speranza can find roles for each of his fifteen enormous sons. Speranza soon realizes that the only way to keep the momentum going is to actually make the movie, assuring the villagers that Dante is on his way. Luckily, his hapless assistant Smilzo happens to have written a screenplay - not so secretly based on his undying love for the film's leading lady. As the entire town becomes involved in the movie - even the village priest invests! - Signor Speranza starts to think he might be able to pull this off...until word reaches Dante Rinaldi's ears"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2022 March #2
    *Starred Review* Giovannino Speranza has a dilemma. A town-wide plumbing problem threatens the very existence of Prometto, Italy, population 212, unless he, the de facto mayor, can come up with the money to pay for repairs. The town coffers are empty, so he tells a little lie to increase business in the town, declaring that superstar actor Dante Renaldi is thinking of making a film in Prometto. Soon, the whole town is involved—Speranza's assistant, closet screenwriter Smilzo, local priest Don Rocco (who keeps asking for Speranza's confession), the thuggish sons of the town butcher (one of whom wants a singing role in the film), and Speranza's daughter, Gemma (who starts to come out of her shell with the excitement of the movie). So excited are the townspeople, they start filming while waiting for Dante to arrive. Full of slapstick humor (including a rescue from a wild goat) and a large cast of quirky characters, Simon's debut is brimming with heart. As the filming progresses, the stakes keep rising, making this a real page-turner as readers wonder how Speranza will get out of each new predicament. Fans of Fredrik Backman, Phaedra Patrick, and other chroniclers of small-town humor will savor this. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Christine Simon grew up in a very large and very loud Italian family and now lives with her husband and four children. The Patron Saint of Second Chances is her first novel.

Subject: Mayors > Fiction.
Villages > Italy > Fiction.
Water-supply > Fiction.
Rumor > Fiction.
City and town life > Fiction.
Truthfulness and falsehood > Fiction.
Motion pictures > Production and direction > Fiction.
Italy > Fiction.
FICTION / Friendship
FICTION / Humorous / General
Mayors.
Villages.
Water-supply.
Rumor.
City and town life.
Truthfulness and falsehood.
Motion pictures > Production and direction.
Italy.
Genre: Humorous fiction.
Humorous fiction.
Humorous fiction.
Humorous fiction.

Additional Resources