Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Mahnomen Public Library WOL (Text) 33500013619358 New Available -
McIntosh Public Library WOL (Text) 33500013619366 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780063209749
  • ISBN: 0063209748
  • Physical Description: 212 pages ; 21 cm.
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : William Morrow an imprint of HarperCollins, [2022]

Content descriptions

General Note:
Prepublication title: Landmarks.
Summary, etc.:
"For fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Brit Bennett, a striking coming-of-age debut about friendship, community, and resilience, set in the housing projects of Chicago during one life-changing summer"-- Provided by publisher.
Summer, 1999. Felicia "Fe Fe" Stevens lives with her mother and older teenaged brother in building 4950 of Chicago's Robert Taylor Homes. The high-rise is next in line to be torn down by the Chicago Housing Authority, and the neighborhood is beginning to fall down around them. Fe Fe is friends with Precious and Stacia, but when Fe Fe welcomes Tonya into their fold, the dynamics shift. Their friendships fray, as do the structures of the four girls' families. Fe Fe must make the painful decision of whom she can trust and whom she must let go. Decades later, remembering that fateful summer, Fe Fe tries to make sense of the grief and fraught bonds that still haunt her and attempts to reclaim the love that never left. -- adapted from jacket
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2022 May #1
    *Starred Review* Children, cued to joy like flowers to the sun, learn to navigate the perils of South Side Chicago's Robert Taylor Homes, an enormous high-rise public housing project, forging friendships and having fun in spite of poverty, drugs, police brutality, and gang warfare. Twelve-year-old Fe Fe (Felicia), raised by a diligent and loving mother along with Meechie, her older brother, is smart and bighearted, extending her close friendship with equally well-loved Precious to the less-fortunate Stacia and Tonya. But their already precarious lives turn even more treacherous in 1999 as the city starts tearing down the towers. First-time novelist Wolfe writes with lacerating precision and authenticity, building her reverberating tale on bedrock Black Chicago history and her own experiences growing up in this besieged community. While Fe Fe dreams of being a teacher in the sanctuary of her book-filled bedroom and Precious is enfolded within the Seventh-day Adventist Church, Meechie, Stacia, and Tonya are subjected to violation, violence, and ruthless gang pressure. In a fictional counterpart to Dawn Turner's memoir, Three Girls from Bronzeville (2021), Wolfe's deeply compelling characters, sharply wrought settings, and tightly choreographed plot create a concentrated, significant, and unforgettable tale of family, home, racism, trauma, compassion, and transcendence. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Subject: Robert Taylor Homes > Fiction.
Friendship > Fiction.
Public housing > Fiction.
Chicago (Ill.) > Fiction.
Community life > Fiction.
Summer > Fiction.
Persistence > Fiction.
Genre: Bildungsromans.
Bildungsromans.
Historical fiction.

Additional Resources