Record Details

Catalog Search

Available copies

  • 0 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

4 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Climax Public Library M BIL (Text) 33500013635230 New Checked out 08/25/2022
Fertile Public Library M BIL (Text) 33500013635222 New On holds shelf -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780802159687
  • ISBN: 0802159680
  • Physical Description: 405 pages ; 24 cm.
  • Edition: First Grove Atlantic hardcover edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Atlantic Monthly Press, 2022.

Content descriptions

General Note:
"First published in Great Britain in 2022 by Little, Brown an Hachette UK Company"--Title page verso.
Summary, etc.:
"Tom Thorne finally has it all. In Nicola Tanner and Phil Hendricks, Thorne has good friends by his side. His love life is newly reformed by a promising relationship and he is happy in the job he has devoted his life to. As he sets off hunting the woman responsible for a series of grisly murders, Thorne has no way of knowing that he will be plunged into a nightmare from which he may never wake. A nightmare that has a name. Thorne's past threatens to catch up with him and a ruinous secret is about to be revealed. If he wants to save himself and his friends, he will have to do the unthinkable. Tom Thorne finally has a lot to lose"-- Provided by publisher.

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2022 May #1
    *Starred Review* For a police detective, a murder book is the file of a murder investigation, including photographs, sketches, forensic reports, witness interviews, etc. London DI Tom Thorne's murder book on Stuart Nicklin is thick. An absolute monster of a man who lives only to inflict pain on others, Nicklin is at it again. A spate of gruesome murders by a young woman seemingly begging to be caught turns out to have been engineered by Nicklin. Thorne caught him once, only to be tricked into letting him escape, and this time he intends to lock him up forever. A cacophony grows daily inside Thorne's head, an "angry static," as those around him are threatened, and Nicklin takes to sending the inspector messages carved into corpses. The narrative moves rapidly, and readers will find their own "static" growing stronger with each page. Despite the suspense and visceral reality, they will be sustained by the gallows humor and the warmth and caring that has developed between Thorne and those closest to him. This is the eighteenth book (after Cry Baby, 2020) in a series that began in 2001 and has established Thorne as one of British crime fiction's most iconic characters. Billingham is a masterful plotter, and here he supplies a few alarming teasers before delivering one of his most amazing endings ever. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Mark Billingham has twice won the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award and has also won the Sherlock Award for Best Detective Novel Created by a British Author. His books, which include the critically acclaimed Tom Thorne series, have been translated into twenty-five languages and have sold over six million copies. He lives in London.

Subject: Thorne, Tom (Fictitious character) > Fiction.
Police > England > London > Fiction.
Serial murder investigation > Fiction.
Women murderers > Fiction.
Secrecy > Fiction.
London (England) > Fiction.
Homicide > Fiction.
Women murderers > Fiction.
Secrecy > Fiction.
Police > Fiction.
Genre: Mystery fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)

Additional Resources