Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Hawley Public Library J SUT (Text) 33500013632682 New Available -
Mahnomen Public Library J SUT (Text) 33500013632690 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250794284
  • ISBN: 1250794285
  • Physical Description: 308 pages ; 22 cm.
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Feiwel and Friends, 2022.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
A twelve-year-old Chinese American boy must learn to embrace his heritage and accept his beloved older brother's spirit companion--a mystical fox named Kai--to solve the mystery of Jamie's death.
Target Audience Note:
Ages 8-12. Feiwel and Friends.
Grades 4-6. Feiwel and Friends.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2022 April #2
    Sutanto's latest middle-grade fantasy is, at its core, about a boy finding his power by connecting to his heritage. Chinese American Theo Tan lives with his family in San Francisco's Chinatown. All he wants is to be a normal American boy, but when his older brother dies under mysterious circumstances, Theo must partner with his brother's mischievous fox spirit, named Kai, and set out on a quest to find answers. Sutanto blends Chinese culture and history to build a world of dragons, demons, spell casting, and code breaking. The story is told via two different points of view, jumping between Theo's and Kai's perspectives. Kai is a witty and snarky character, often describing the magical world through footnotes and commentary, reminiscent of Bartimaeus in Jonathan Stroud's The Amulet of Samarkand (2003). This is a natural choice for kids who like Rick Riordan's brand of mythology-fueled fantasy adventures, and it will be an especially good read-alike for Laurence Yep's classic Tiger's Apprentice series, another action-packed fantasy with a distinct Asian perspective that pairs ancient Chinese mythology with modern San Francisco. Grades 3-7. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Jesse Q. Sutanto is the author of books for adults and young readers, including Dial A For Aunties, The Obsession, Theo Tan and the Fox Spirit and Well, That Was Unexpected. She grew up shuttling back and forth between Indonesia, Singapore, and England, and considers all three places her home. She has forty-two first cousins and thirty aunties and uncles, many of whom live just down the road. When she’s not writing, she’s playing games with her husband, or making a mess in the kitchen with her two daughters.

Subject: Spirits > Juvenile fiction.
Magic > Juvenile fiction.
Brothers > Death > Juvenile fiction.
Chinese Americans > Juvenile fiction.
Spirits > Fiction.
Magic > Fiction.
Brothers > Fiction.
Chinese Americans > Fiction.
Supernatural > Fiction.
Genre: Fantasy fiction.
Children's stories.
Fictional Work
Novels.
Paranormal fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.
Novels.
Paranormal fiction.
Romans.

Additional Resources