Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



I saw death coming : a history of terror and survival in the war against Reconstruction / Kidada E. Williams.

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Moorhead Public Library 973.8049 WIL (Text) 33500013738109 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781635576634
  • ISBN: 1635576636
  • Physical Description: xxv, 351 pages : map ; 24 cm
  • Publisher: New York : Bloomsbury Publishing, 2023.

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Formatted Contents Note:
We had to pick ourselve up -- The devil was turned loose -- i didn't know how soon they might come to send me up -- they deviled us a while -- -I don't ever expect in the life to get over iti -- They never intended to do me justice -- What they did is hurting my family -- A revolution in reverse.
Summary, etc.:
"The story of Reconstruction is often told from the perspective of the politicians, generals, and journalists whose accounts claim an outsized place in collective memory. But this pivotal era looked very different to African Americans in the South transitioning from bondage to freedom after 1865. They were besieged by a campaign of white supremacist violence that persisted through the 1880s and beyond. For too long, their lived experiences have been sidelined, impoverishing our understanding of the obstacles post-Civil War Black families faced, their inspiring determination to survive, and the physical and emotional scars they bore because of it. In I Saw Death Coming, Kidada E. Williams offers a breakthrough account of the much-debated Reconstruction period, transporting readers into the daily existence of formerly enslaved people building hope-filled new lives. Drawing on overlooked sources and bold new readings of the archives, Williams offers a revelatory and, in some cases, minute-by-minute record of nighttime raids and Ku Klux Klan strikes. And she deploys cutting-edge scholarship on trauma to consider how the effects of these attacks would linger for decades--indeed, generations--to come. For readers of Carol Anderson, Tiya Miles, and Clint Smith, I Saw Death Coming is an indelible and essential book that speaks to some of the most pressing questions of our times."-- Provided by publisher.
Author Notes

Kidada E. Williams is Associate Professor of History at Wayne State University. She is the author of They Left Great Marks on Me, coauthor of Charleston Syllabus, and creator of the podcast Seizing Freedom. Williams has been interviewed on NPR's Morning Edition and On Point, and her essays have appeared in the New York Times, Slate, and multiple scholarly journals. She lives in Detroit.

Subject: Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877)
African Americans > Civil rights > History > 19th century.
African Americans > Social conditions > History > 19th century.
African Americans > History > 1863-1877.
White supremacy movements > United States.

Additional Resources