Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 3 of 15 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Available copies

  • 5 of 6 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 6 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Fertile Public Library J AVI (Text) 33500012123816 Main Available -
Godel Memorial-Warren Library j AVI (Text) 35500005670151 Main Available -
Red Lake Falls Public Library j AVI (Text) 35500005670052 Main Available -
Roseau Public Library j AVI (Text) 35500005670334 Main Available -
Thief River Falls Public Library j AVI (Text) 35500005670045 Main Available -
Warroad Public Library j AVI (Text) 35500005670243 Main Checked out 11/28/2020

Record details

  • ISBN: 1442499222
  • ISBN: 9781442499225
  • ISBN: 1442499214
  • ISBN: 9781442499218
  • Physical Description: 146 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
    print
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, [2015]

Content descriptions

General Note: "A Richard Jackson book."
Summary, etc.: "A wolf and bird must fight the starving time and find food, while a human boy learns to hunt"--
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2015 June #1
    An aging leader of a wolf pack, a raven, and a teenage boy find themselves face-to-face in this combination of survival tale and coming-of-age story. Nashoba must find food for his pack so they can survive the rest of the winter. Merla, the raven, informs Nashoba that a herd of elk is grazing nearby. They should be easy prey, but the grazing land is also close to where the humans live. Hunger trumps fear as Nashoba scouts the elk herd and then makes the decision to take his pack hunting. At the same time, 13-year-old Case, who lives with his family in this remote part of Colorado, has received a bow for his birthday and now yearns to practice his video-game archery skills in real life. The paths of all three—wolf, raven, and boy—will collide. A young upstart wolf's attitudes parallel those of the impetuous Case, imparting the message that, sometimes, elders do know better. Featuring detailed pencil drawings by Floca, this is likely to appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen and Will Hobbs. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Avi is the author of more than seventy books for children and young adults, including the 2003 Newbery medal winner Crispin: The Cross of Lead. He has won two Newbery Honors and many other awards for his fiction. He lives with his family in Denver, Colorado. Visit him at Avi-Writer.com.

Brian Floca is the author and illustrator of the acclaimed picture books Locomotive, winner of the Caldecott Medal and a New York Times bestseller; Moonshot: The Flight of Apollo 11; and Lightship, each a Robert F. Sibert Honor Book. He is the illustrator of numerous additional books, including Avi&;s Poppy series. You can visit him online at BrianFloca.com.

Subject: Wolves Juvenile fiction
Ravens Juvenile fiction
Friendship Juvenile fiction
Wolves
Genre: Juvenile works.
Fiction.
Hunting stories.
Search Results Showing Item 3 of 15 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources