Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 3 of 56 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Available copies

  • 3 of 3 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Barnesville Public Library GRI (Text) 33500013017256 Main Available -
Detroit Lakes Public Library GRI (Text) 33500013017249 Main Available -
Hallock Public Library GRI (Text) 35500006140741 Main Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250200594 (ebook)
  • ISBN: 125020058X
  • ISBN: 9781250200587
  • Physical Description: 326 pages ; 22 cm
    print
  • Edition: First U.S. edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Thomas Dunne Books, 2019.
  • Badges:
    • Top Holds Over Last 5 Years: 1 / 5.0

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: If you had to pick five people to sum up your life, who would they be? If you were to raise a glass to each of them, what would you say? And what would you learn about yourself, when all is said? At the bar of a grand hotel in a small Irish town sits 84-year-old Maurice Hannigan. He's alone, as usual, though tonight is anything but. Pull up a stool and charge your glass, because Maurice is finally ready to tell his story. Over the course of this evening, he will raise five toasts to the five people who have meant the most to him. Through these stories - of unspoken joy and regret, a secret tragedy kept hidden, a fierce love that never found its voice - the life of one man will be powerful and poignantly laid bare. Beautifully heart-warming and powerfully felt, the voice of Maurice Hannigan will stay with you long after all is said and done.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2019 February #1
    Few things are as comforting to Maurice Hannigan as the first sip of a good stout. Looking back on a lifetime of memories, both gut-bustingly happy and tearjerkingly sad, it's often the smallest comforts that put him at ease. Maurice has watched the landscape of County Meath, Ireland, and the attitudes of its inhabitants change around him. Now nearing the end of his life, he sidles up to his favorite bar at the Rainsford House Hotel and settles in for a night of reminiscing. With each drink, he dives deep into his memory to focus on one of the five people who've made a difference in his life, good or bad. Through Maurice's toasts, Griffin paints a full portrait of his life, giving even the simplest memory weight and resonance. Fans of Anne Tyler and Sara Baume will appreciate Griffin's sense of personal history and her bright, lyrical voice. Her deeply moving debut novel highlights the power of nostalgia, the pang of regret, and the impact that very special individuals can have on our lives. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

ANNE GRIFFIN is the winner of the John McGahern Award for Literature. Shortlisted for the Hennessey New Irish Writing Award and The Sunday Business Post Short Story Competition, Anne’s work has been featured in, amongst others, The Irish Times and The Stinging Fly, and she had an eight year career at Waterstones. Anne lives in Ireland with her husband and son. When All Is Said is her debut novel.

Subject: Older men Ireland Fiction
Reminiscing in old age Fiction
Older men
Reminiscing in old age
Ireland
Genre: Fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Search Results Showing Item 3 of 56 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources