Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 1 of 9 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 6 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

13 current holds with 9 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Detroit Lakes Public Library STR (Text) 33500013097217 New On holds shelf -
Detroit Lakes Public Library STR (Text) 33500013123328 Express Reshelving -
Hawley Public Library STR (Text) 33500013107123 New Checked out 02/22/2020
Moorhead Public Library STR (Text) 33500013097225 New In transit -
Moorhead Public Library STR (Text) 33500013103692 New On holds shelf -
Moorhead Public Library STR (Text) 33500013123310 Express Checked out 02/27/2020
Karlstad LINK Site STR (Text) 35500006199432 Main Checked out 03/06/2020
Thief River Falls Public Library STR (Text) 35500006225385 Main Checked out 03/12/2020
Warroad Public Library STR (Text) 35500006228447 New Checked out 03/11/2020

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780399563058
  • ISBN: 0399563059
  • Physical Description: 353 pages ; 24 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Pamela Dorman Books / Viking, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC, [2019]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"A novel of family, Midwestern values, hard work, fate, and the secrets of making a world-class beer, from the author of Kitchens of the Great Midwest"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2019 June #1
    *Starred Review* Edith Magnusson never thought she'd be figuring out how to translate the flavors of her award-winning pies into beer, but she's had plenty of practice being adaptable. Ever since her father left the family farm to her sister, Helen, Edith has learned to make do on her own. She and her husband raised their children comfortably, but not extravagantly, and no job was ever too small for Edith. When her granddaughter, Diana, turns a severance package into ownership of a fledgling craft brewery, she's surprised to find that brewing is in the family bloodline. A chance to mend decades-old resentment resurfaces, and Edith, Helen, and Diana have to decide how to best navigate the tricky waters of reconciliation. A love story to Minnesota, craft beer, and the power of second chances, Stradal's (Kitchens of the Great Midwest, 2015) second novel goes down easy. Perspective shifts among Helen, Edith, and Diana, letting each woman speak for herself and allowing their narratives to build off one another, despite the non-linear timeline. Imbued with Midwestern references and the importance of a "can-do" attitude, this warm, witty novel will appeal to fans of Curtis Sittenfeld and Meg Wolitzer. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Subject: Sisters > Fiction.
Women brewers > Fiction.
Families > Fiction.
FICTION / Family Life.
FICTION / Contemporary Women.
FICTION / Literary.
Genre: Domestic fiction.

Additional Resources