Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 1 of 5 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 4 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

1 current hold with 5 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Detroit Lakes Public Library ARD (Text) 33500012420279 Main On holds shelf -
Hawley Public Library ARD (Text) 33500012506416 Main Checked out 01/26/2021
Moorhead Public Library ARD (Text) 33500012420261 Main Checked out 02/01/2021
Moorhead Public Library ARD (Text) 33500012506408 Main On holds shelf -
Godel Memorial-Warren Library ARD (Text) 35500005915150 Main Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781101885932
  • ISBN: 1101885939
  • Physical Description: pages cm
  • Publisher: New York : Del Rey, 2017.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"A magical debut novel for readers of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern'sThe Night Circus, and Neil Gaiman's myth-rich fantasies, The Bear and the Nightingale spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice. At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn't mind--she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse's fairy tales. Above all, she loves the chilling story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon, who appears in the frigid night to claim unwary souls. Wise Russians fear him, her nurse says, and honor the spirits of house and yard and forest that protect their homes from evil. After Vasilisa's mother dies, her father goes to Moscow and brings home a new wife. Fiercely devout, city-bred, Vasilisa's new stepmother forbids her family from honoring the household spirits. The family acquiesces, but Vasilisa is frightened, sensing that more hinges upon their rituals than anyone knows. And indeed, crops begin to fail, evil creatures of the forest creep nearer, and misfortune stalks the village. All the while, Vasilisa's stepmother grows ever harsher in her determination to groom her rebellious stepdaughter for marriage or confinement in a convent. As danger circles nearer, Vasilisa must defy even the people she loves and call on dangerous gifts she has long concealed--this, in order to protect her family from a threat that seems to have stepped from her nurse's most frightening tales. Advance praise for The Bear and the Nightingale "An extraordinary retelling of a very old tale. A Russian setting adds unfamiliar spice to the story of a young woman who does not rebel against the limits of her role in her culture so much as transcend them. The Bear and the Nightingale is a wonderfully layered novel of family and the harsh wonders of deep winter magic."--Robin Hobb, bestselling author of the Fitz and the Fool trilogy "A beautiful deep-winter story, full of magic and monsters and the sharp edges of growing up."--Naomi Novik, bestselling author of Uprooted"-- Provided by publisher.
"In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, a stranger with piercing blue eyes presents a new father with a gift - a precious jewel on a delicate chain, intended for his young daughter. Uncertain of its meaning, Pytor hides the gift away and Vasya grows up a wild, willful girl, to the chagrin of her family. But when mysterious forces threaten the happiness of their village, Vasya discovers that, armed only with the necklace, she may be the only one who can keep the darkness at bay"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2016 October #2
    *Starred Review* Gracefully threaded with Russian fairy tales and a tactile sense of place, Arden's debut tells the story of Vasya, daughter of a supposed witch, in the northern reaches of medieval Russia. As a child, Vasya's conversations with wood sprites and household spirits were an odd, but tolerable, feature, but when her father marries deeply pious, troubled Anna, Vasya learns to keep her otherworldly friends a secret. They don't stay secret for long, however: a fanatical priest quickly catches on, and he becomes obsessed with Vasya's salvation, while Anna roils with anger over her stepdaughter's brazen disregard for propriety. Most treacherous of all, two supernatural beings, Morozko and Medved, see powerful opportunities in Vasya's gifts. And while Vasya tries to ward off Medved's nefarious grasp on her village, political rumblings from Moscow threaten their status quo, and the villagers become wary of Vasya's inexplicable talents and boldness. In a lush narrative with the cadence of a fairy tale, Arden weaves an immersive, earthy story of folk magic, faith, and hubris, peopled with vivid, dynamic characters, particularly clever, brave Vasya, who outsmarts men and demons alike to save her family. This beautifully written, auspicious first novel is utterly bewitching. Copyright 2016 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Born in Austin, Texas, Katherine Arden spent a year of high school in Rennes, France. Following her acceptance to Middlebury College in Vermont, she deferred enrollment for a year in order to live and study in Moscow. At Middlebury, she specialized in French and Russian literature. After receiving her BA, she moved to Maui, Hawaii, working every kind of odd job imaginable, from grant writing and making crêpes to guiding horse trips. Currently she lives in Vermont, but really, you never know.

Subject: Young women > Fiction.
Villages > Fiction.
Good and evil > Fiction.
Spirits > Fiction.
Magic > Fiction.
Russia > Fiction.
FICTION > Fantasy > General.
FICTION > Literary.
Good and evil.
Magic.
Spirits.
Villages
Young women
Russia.
Genre: Fiction.
Fantasy fiction.

Additional Resources