Catalog

Updates ahead! We will be updating our catalog on Sunday, October 20, which means availability will be limited from 7 a.m. - 5 p.m. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Record Details

Catalog Search



Laurentian divide / Sarah Stonich.

Stonich, Sarah, 1958- author. (Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

1 current hold with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Frazee LINK Site STO (Text) 33500012794848 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781517905620
  • ISBN: 1517905621
  • ISBN: 9781517902490
  • ISBN: 1517902495
  • Physical Description: viii, 257 pages ; 22 cm
  • Publisher: Minneapolis : University of Minnesota Press, [2018]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "Bitter winters are nothing new in Hatchet Inlet, hard up against the ridge of the Laurentian Divide, but the advent of spring can't thaw the community's collective grief, lingering since a senseless tragedy the previous fall. What is different this year is what's missing: Rauri Paar, the last private landowner in the Reserve, whose annual emergence from his remote iced-in islands marks the beginning of spring and the promise of a kinder season. The town's residents gather at the local diner and, amid talk of spring weather, the latest gossip, roadkill, and the daily special, take bets on when Rauri will appear -- or imagine what happened to him during the long and brutal winter. Retired union minor and widower Alpo Lahti is about to wed the diner's charming and lively waitress, Sissy Pavlova, but, with Rauri still unaccounted for, celebration seems premature. Alpo's son Pete struggles to find his straight and narrow, then struggles to stay on it, and even Sissy might be having second thoughts. Weaving in and out of each other's reach, trying hard to do their best (all the while wondering what that might be), the residents of this remote town in all their sweetness and sorrow remind us once more of the inescapable lurches of the heart and unexpected turns of our human comedy"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2018 August #1
    The sleepy town of Hatchet Inlet, Minnesota, is finally waking up from a long, frigid winter. Residents gather at Pavola's diner, eager to chat about the waitress' upcoming wedding; to mourn the loss of two bright young women in a car wreck; and to wager on when stubborn recluse Rauri Paar will make his seasonal trek back into town. Rauri spends winters alone on the private land that's been grandfathered out of inclusion in the million-acre wilderness called the Reserve. The small-town gossip mill starts churning when Rauri doesn't show up, and more than a few residents begin to suspect foul play. Picking up where she left off in Vacationland? (2013), Stonich weaves past and present into a lyrical, immersive novel. Fans of Kent Haruf and Paulette Jiles will fall in love with Stonich's depiction of Minnesota: harsh and welcoming, friendly and unforgiving, all at once. Exploring the consequences of actions set in motion months, years, or even decades ago, Stonich's slow burn of a novel questions what—and who—can belong to us. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Sarah Stonich is the best-selling author of These Granite Islands (Minnesota, 2013), which has been translated into seven languages and shortlisted for France’s Grand Prix des Lectrices de Elle; the critically acclaimed novel The Ice Chorus; and a memoir, Shelter: Off the Grid in the Mostly Magnetic North (Minnesota, 2017). Her novel-in-stories, Vacationland (Minnesota, 2013), is the first volume in her Northern Trilogy, followed by Laurentian Divide. She has also written the novels Fishing with RayAnne and Reeling. The founder of WordStalkers.com, she lives on the Mississippi River in Minneapolis.

Subject: City and town life > Fiction.
Minnesota > Fiction.
City and town life.
Minnesota.
Genre: Fiction.

Additional Resources