Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



My life in a cat house : true tales of love, laughter, and living with five felines / Gwen Cooper.

Cooper, Gwen, 1971- author. (Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 0 of 1 copy available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

3 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Moorhead Public Library 636.8009 COO (Text) 33500013071451 New Checked out 07/08/2019

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781946885654
  • ISBN: 1946885657
  • Physical Description: xv, 270 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
  • Publisher: Dallas, TX : BenBella Books, Inc., [2018]

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note: Includes bibliographical references and index.
Formatted Contents Note: I choo-choo-choose you -- Stop trying to make fetch happen -- The Picasso of pee -- Cat lovers don't read books -- Them! a story in five parts -- Cat carrier tango -- Fanny trouble -- The worm has turned.
Summary, etc.: "This collection of eight purr-fect cat stories is filled with all the humor and heart Gwen's devoted readership has come to know and love" -- Provided by publisher.
Language Note: Text in English.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2018 November #1
    Fans of Homer's Odyssey (2009) will rejoice upon hearing that Homer's owner, Cooper, has returned with more true cat stories collected from the Curl Up with a Cat Tale series. Homer (who Cooper's husband would swear isn't really blind if it weren't for the fact that his eyes have been removed) returns, alongside four other felines, the subjects of anecdotes both hilarious and deeply moving. Through eight short stories, Cooper recounts each of her cats' talents, propensities, and antipathies, demonstrating each to be an individual with a personality worthy of attention. Whether describing Vashti bringing her a breakfast bug in bed or Scarlett crying out for her not to leave, Cooper's light and cheerful style makes it obvious that these cats are the loves of her life. Even readers with little inclination towards anthropomorphism will delight in these anecdotes of cats who seemingly have something to say about everything. Fans of Vicky Myron and Brett Witter's Dewey (2008) and James Bowen's A Street Cat Named Bob and How He Saved My Life (2013) will be highly satisfied. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Gwen Cooper is the New York Times bestselling author of the memoirs Homer's Odyssey: A Fearless Feline Tale, or How I Learned About Love and Life with a Blind Wonder Cat and Homer: The Ninth Life of a Blind Wonder Cat; the novels Love Saves the Day and Diary of a South Beach Party Girl; and the crowd-sourced collection of “cat selfies,” Kittenish (a send-up of Kim Kardashian’s Selfish), 100% of the proceeds from which were donated to support animal rescue in Nepal following the 2015 earthquake. Her work has been published in nearly two-dozen languages and territories around the world.  She is a frequent speaker at shelters and fundraisers, and donates 10% of her royalties from Homer's Odyssey to organizations that serve abused, abandoned, and disabled animals. Gwen lives in Manhattan with her husband, Laurence. She also lives with her two perfect cats—Clayton the Tripod and his litter-mate, Fanny—who aren't impressed with any of it.

Subject: Cooper, Gwen, 1971-
Cooper, Gwen, 1971-
Cats > Anecdotes.
Cat owners > Biography.
Cats > Anecdotes.
Human-animal relationships.
Cat owners.
Cats.
Human-animal relationships.
PETS / Essays & Narratives.
PETS / Cats / General.
Cat owners > Biography.
Human-animal relationships.
Genre: Nonfiction.
Nonfiction.
Anecdotes.
Anecdotes.
Biography.

Additional Resources