Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The sun sister : Electra's story. #6 / Lucinda Riley.

Riley, Lucinda. (author.).

Available copies

  • 1 of 4 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 4 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 4 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Detroit Lakes Public Library RIL (Text) 33500013197744 New Checked out 10/17/2020
Detroit Lakes Public Library RIL (Text) 33500013197751 New Available -
Moorhead Public Library RIL (Text) 33500013253232 New Checked out 10/06/2020
Moorhead Public Library RIL (Text) 33500013253240 New Checked out 10/10/2020

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781509840144
  • ISBN: 1509840141
  • ISBN: 9781509840137
  • ISBN: 1509840133
  • ISBN: 9781982110642
  • ISBN: 1982110643
  • Physical Description: 837 pages ; 24 cm
  • Publisher: London : Macmillan, 2019.

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references.
Includes bibliographical references (pages 837-[838]).
Summary, etc.:
"To the outside world, Electra d'Apliese seems as though she is the woman who has everything: as one of the world's top models, she is beautiful, rich and famous. But beneath the veneer, and fuelled by the pressure of the life she leads, Electra's already tenuous control over her mental state has been rocked by the death of her father, Pa Salt, the elusive billionaire who adopted his six daughters as babies from around the globe. Struggling to cope, she turns to alcohol and drugs to ease the pain, and as those around her fear for her health, Electra receives a letter from a complete stranger who claims to be her grandmother... In 1943, Celia Arundel arrives in Nairobi, Kenya, to join her new husband on his family coffee plantation. After a sheltered upbringing in England, she is astounded and horrified by the antics of her fellow ex-pats in the infamous Happy Valley set. Then Bertie, her husband, brings home the daughter of the Chieftain of the local Maasai tribe to live under his protection due to kidnap threats from a neighbouring tribe, and a strange bond begins to form between them ."--Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 April #2
    The D'Apliese sisters were adopted as infants and raised on a luxurious Austrian estate. After the D'Apliese patriarch passes away, each now-grown sister receives a handwritten letter with clues to her personal history. Electra D'Apliese, a famous model with a swiftly worsening substance abuse issue, is wholly uninterested in the details of her biological family. When she receives a letter from a stranger claiming to be her biological grandmother, Electra realizes that she can't understand her past until she confronts the challenges of her globetrotting present. The sixth—and darkest—entry in Riley's Seven Sisters series explores the harsh realities of addiction and recovery and the pressures of chasing fame. A story-within-the-story follows a dear family friend, Cecily, as she adjusts to her unfamiliar Kenyan home after living a sheltered life in New York. Riley's meticulous research and attention to detail once again immerse readers, this time in 1940s Kenya with the complicated story of the ex-pat Happy Valley community, brought to life. Fans of Riley, Kate Atkinson, and the series will adore The Sun Sister. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Lucinda Riley is the New York Times bestselling author of over twenty novels, including The Orchid House, The Girl on the Cliff, and the Seven Sisters series. Her books have sold twenty million copies in thirty-five languages globally. She was born in Ireland and divides her time between England and West Cork with her husband and four children. Visit her online at LucindaRiley.com.

Subject: Adopted children > Fiction.
Models (Persons) > Fiction.
Fathers > Death > Fiction.
Mothers and daughters > Fiction.
Families > Fiction.
Addicts > Fiction.
England > Fiction.
Nairobi (Kenya) > Fiction.
Addicts.
Adopted children.
Families.
Fathers > Death.
Models (Persons)
Mothers and daughters.
England.
Kenya > Nairobi.
Genre: Domestic fiction.
Fiction.
Historical fiction.
Historical fiction.
Domestic fiction.

Additional Resources