Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The Black Swan of Paris [electronic resource] / Karen Robards.

Robards, Karen. (Author).

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781488055331 (electronic bk)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
From New York Times bestselling author Karen Robards comes one of the most anticipated novels of the summer... A world at war. A beautiful young star. A mission no one expected. Paris, 1944 Celebrated singer Genevieve Dumont is both a star and a smokescreen. An unwilling darling of the Nazis, the chanteuse's position of privilege allows her to go undetected as an ally to the resistance. When her estranged mother, Lillian de Rocheford, is captured by Nazis, Genevieve knows it won't be long before the Gestapo succeeds in torturing information out of Lillian that will derail the upcoming allied invasion. The resistance movement is tasked with silencing her by any means necessary—including assassination. But Genevieve refuses to let her mother become yet one more victim of the war. Reuniting with her long-lost sister, she must find a way to navigate the perilous cross-currents of Occupied France undetected—and in time to save Lillian's life. For fans of The Nightingale, The Women in the Castle and The Lost Girls of Paris, this exquisite novel illuminates three women's strength, courage and capacity for unconditional love.
Reproduction Note:
Electronic reproduction. Toronto, Ontario : MIRA, 2020. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 1150 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB).
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 May #2
    Beneath the glitz and glamour of the life of singing star Genevieve Dumont, aka Black Swan, lies a whirlwind story of love, loss, sacrifice, and war in Paris, 1944. Robards (The Fifth Doctrine, 2019) delivers a suspenseful historical account of the women in the Résistance who used heart, body, and soul to advance the Allies plans for an invasion, despite the ironclad control of the Nazis. Genevieve encounters a cast of characters with cloaked intentions, including Max, her manager and leader of her tour group; her dresser, Berthe; Max's driver, Otto; and myriad others. When she catches news that her mother, Lillian de Rocheford, has been taken prisoner, it releases past memories of loss as Genevieve takes action. She jumps into the fray, first purely by instinct, then with the full knowledge that lives are at risk and the future of freedom in Europe lies in the balance. WWII history buffs will appreciate the accurate depictions and backdrop, while romantic-suspense lovers will eagerly follow Genevieve from the seashores of France to the hilltops of Germany. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Subject: Fiction.
Historical Fiction.
Literature.
Thriller.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources