Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Fosston Public Library SF HAI (Text) 33500013294020 New Available -
Hawley Public Library SF HAI (Text) 33500013294038 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250260543
  • ISBN: 125026054X
  • Physical Description: 512 pages : map ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York, NY : Tordotcom, 2020.

Content descriptions

General Note:
"A Tom Doherty Associates book."
Summary, etc.:
"Award-winning author Andrea Hairston weaves together African folktales and postcolonial literature into unforgettable fantasy in Master of Poisons. The world is changing. Poison desert eats good farmland. Once-sweet water turns foul. The wind blows sand and sadness across the Empire. To get caught in a storm is death. To live and do nothing is death. There is magic in the world, but good conjure is hard to find. Djola, righthand man and spymaster of the lord of the Arkhysian Empire, is desperately trying to save his adopted homeland, even in exile. Awa, a young woman training to be a powerful griot, tests the limits of her knowledge and comes into her own in a world of sorcery, floating cities, kindly beasts, and uncertain men. Awash in the rhythms of folklore and storytelling and rich with Hairston's characteristic lush prose, Master of Poisons is epic fantasy that will bleed your mind with its turns of phrase and leave you aching for the world it burns into being."--Jacket flap.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 August #1
    A sand poison that kills off crops and animals has pushed the Arkhysian Empire to the breaking point, with food shortages, animal extinctions, and morale lowering by the day. The Master of Poisons, Djola, is meant to cure the land with a spell, but the book that contains it is missing, and when the emperor exiles him, his journey lands him on a pirate ship. Awa was raised with mystics from whom she learned about the Shadowlands, a place of dreams that only certain people can access, and she has a special relationship with the bees. Hairston pulls the reader into a mythical fantasyland based on Africa, and the tone, pace, and stories within the novel speak to the folkloric tradition, reminiscent of Marlon James' Black Leopard, Red Wolf (2019). Storytelling, maps, and narrative form the roots of the journeys of both Awa and Djola. Fans of Rachel Caine's Ink and Bone (2015) and S. A. Chakraborty's The City of Brass (2017) will enjoy this. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Andrea Hairston is a novelist, essayist, playwright, and the Artistic Director of Chrysalis Theatre. She is the author of Redwood and Wildfire, winner of the 2011 Tiptree Award and the Carl Brandon Kindred Award, and Mindscape, shortlisted for the Phillip K Dick and Tiptree Awards, and winner of the Carl Brandon Parallax Award. In her spare time, she is the Louise Wolff Kahn 1931 Professor of Theatre and Afro-American Studies at Smith College. She has received the International Association of the Fantastic in the Arts Distinguished Scholarship Award for outstanding contributions to the criticism of the fantastic. She bikes at night year-round, meeting bears, multi-legged creatures of light and breath, and the occasional shooting star.

Subject: Magic > Fiction.
Griots > Fiction.
Animals, Mythical > Fiction.
Folklore > Fiction.
Genre: Fantasy fiction.

Additional Resources