Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Carry : a memoir of survival on stolen land / Toni Jensen.

Jensen, Toni, (author.).

Available copies

  • 0 of 1 copy available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Detroit Lakes Public Library 978.4004 JEN (Text) 33500013282439 New Checked out 10/01/2020

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781984821188
  • ISBN: 1984821180
  • Physical Description: pages cm
  • Publisher: New York : Ballantine Group, [2020]

Content descriptions

Formatted Contents Note:
Women in the Fracklands -- Songs Without Words -- The Invented Histories of Domestic Birds -- Give and Go -- Carry -- Route -- Dog Days -- In the Neighborhood -- The Worry Line -- Fracture and Song -- How to Make a Trafficked Girl -- City Beautiful -- Chicken -- Pass -- Contagion -- Ghost Logic.
Summary, etc.:
"A powerful, poetic memoir about what it means to exist as an indigenous woman in America, told in snapshots of the author's encounters with gun violence--for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Terese Marie Mailhot. Toni Jensen grew up in the Midwest around guns: As a girl, she learned how to shoot birds with her father, a card-carrying member of the NRA. As an adult, she's had guns waved in her face in the fracklands around Standing Rock, and felt their silent threat on the concealed-carry campus where she teaches. And she has always known she is not alone. As a Métis woman, she is no stranger to the violence enacted on the bodies of indigenous women, on indigenous land, and the ways it is hidden, ignored, forgotten. In Carry, Jensen maps her personal experience onto the historical, exploring how history is lived in the body and redefining the language we use to speak about violence in America. In the title chapter, Jensen recalls the discrimination she faced in college as a Native American student from her roommate to her faculty adviser. "The Worry Line" explores the gun and gang violence in her neighborhood the year her daughter was born. "At the Workshop" focuses on her graduate school years, during which a classmate repeatedly wrote stories in which he killed thinly veiled versions of her. In "Women in the Fracklands," Jensen takes the reader inside Standing Rock during the Dakota Access pipeline protests, as well as the peril faced by women, in regions overcome by the fracking boom. In prose at once forensic and deeply emotional, Toni Jensen shows herself to be a brave new voice and a fearless witness to her own difficult history--as well as to the violent cultural landscape in which she finds her coordinates as a Native American woman. With each chapter, Carry reminds us that surviving in one's country is not the same as surviving one's country."-- Provided by publisher.
Author Notes

Toni Jensen teaches in the MFA programs at the University of Arkansas and the Institute of American Indian Arts. She is a 2020 recipient of a Creative Writing Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, and her work has been published in Orion, Catapult, and Ecotone. She is Métis.

Subject: Jensen, Toni.
Métis women > North Dakota > Biography.
Indian women activists > North Dakota > Biography.
Indian women > Crimes against > North Dakota.
Indian women activists.
Indian women > Crimes against.
Métis women.
North Dakota.
Genre: Biographies.

Additional Resources