Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 0 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

2 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Hendrum LINK Site TUD (Text) 33500013346051 New On holds shelf -
Moorhead Public Library TUD (Text) 33500013346044 New Checked out 03/17/2021

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781984825025
  • ISBN: 198482502X
  • Physical Description: 333 pages ; 25 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, [2021]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"An unconventional vicar moves to a remote corner of the English countryside, only to discover a community haunted by death and disappearances both past and present--and intent on keeping its dark secrets--in this explosive, unsettling thriller from acclaimed author C. J. Tudor. Welcome to Chapel Croft. Five hundred years ago, eight protestant martyrs were burned at the stake here. Thirty years ago, two teenage girls disappeared without a trace. And two months ago, the vicar of the local parish killed himself. Reverend Jack Brooks, a single parent with a fourteen-year-old daughter and a heavy conscience, arrives in the village hoping to make a fresh start and find some peace. Instead, Jack finds a town mired in secrecy and a strange welcome package: an old exorcism kit and a note quoting scripture. "But there is nothing covered up that will not be revealed and hidden that will not be known." The more Jack and daughter Flo get acquainted with the town and its strange denizens, the deeper they are drawn into their rifts, mysteries, and suspicions. And when Flo is troubled by strange sightings in the old chapel, it becomes apparent that there are ghosts here that refuse to be laid to rest. But uncovering the truth can be deadly in a village where everyone has something to protect, everyone has links with the village's bloody past, and no one trusts an outsider"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2021 February #1
    *Starred Review* Fans of Gillian Flynn, Tana French, and Jess Lourey will leap at the chance to read Tudor's new psychological thriller. Reverend Jack Brooks and her teenage daughter, Flo, move from their big-city life in Nottingham to the remote hamlet of Chapel Croft, hoping for a new beginning and some down time. The more Jack and Flo get to know their new neighbors, however, the more they realize a peaceful life is far from their reality. Chapel Croft's mysterious history involving the sixteenth-century burning of Protestant martyrs is just a drop in the bucket of chaos that awaits. Burning apparitions, the disappearance of two teenage girls, and the cryptic arrival of the former vicar's exorcism kit force Jack right into the middle of Chapel Croft's horrific present. Tudor is undeniably talented at producing a slow burn, weaving each piece of the story together to form a creepy yet satisfying conclusion. Jack is a relatable protagonist, stepping away from the stereotypical personality of a vicar by projecting a raw, yet still empathetic, exterior. Gruesome and haunting, The Burning Girls is worth every page turn. Readers will surely be eager for more. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

C. J. Tudor is the author of The Hiding Place and The Chalk Man, which won the International Thriller Writers Award for Best First Novel and the Strand Magazine Award for Best Debut Novel. Over the years she has worked as a copywriter, television presenter, voice-over artist, and dog walker. She is now thrilled to be able to write full-time, and doesn't miss chasing wet dogs through muddy fields all that much. She lives in England with her partner and daughter.

Subject: Missing persons > Fiction.
Clergy > Fiction.
Haunted places > Fiction.
Exorcism > Fiction.
FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense.
FICTION / Thrillers / Psychological.
FICTION / Thrillers / Domestic.
Clergy.
Exorcism.
Haunted places.
Missing persons.
Genre: Ghost stories.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Fiction.
Horror fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Horror fiction.

Additional Resources