Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 1 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Breckenridge Public Library SF PER (Text) 33500013423512 New Available -
Moorhead Public Library SF PER (Text) 33500013423504 New Checked out 08/11/2021

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781328544865
  • ISBN: 1328544869
  • ISBN: 9780358331537
  • ISBN: 0358331536
  • Physical Description: ix, 290 pages ; 22 cm
  • Publisher: Boston : Mariner Books, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2021.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"From award-winning author Benjamin Percy comes an explosive, breakout speculative thriller in which a powerful new metal arrives on Earth in the wake of a meteor shower, triggering a massive new "Gold Rush" in the Midwest and turning life as we know it on its head. The first of a cycle of novels set in a shared universe"-- Provided by publisher.
It began with a comet. At first, people gazed in wonder at the radiant tear in the sky. A year later, the celestial marvel became a planetary crisis when Earth spun through the comet's debris field and the sky rained fire. The town of Northfall, Minnesota will never be the same. Meteors cratered hardwood forests and annihilated homes, and among the wreckage a new metal was discovered. This "omnimetal" has properties that make it world-changing as an energy source...and a weapon. A modern-day goldrush has turned the middle of nowhere into the center of everything, and one family hopes to control it all.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2021 May #1
    A comet flies past Earth, making the night as bright as day. A year later, the debris of that comet crashes into Earth, creating a boomtown that is solely focused on omnimetal, a substance that can seemingly do anything, including grant powers of invulnerability and strength. As greed and vice engulf their rural Minnesota hometown, a few people decide to take matters into their own hands to do what's right. Percy (Suicide Woods, 2019) is an accomplished superhero comic writer, and that aesthetic is evident from page one. The plot is dynamic, featuring multiple viewpoints as well as corporate malfeasance, spooky cults, and family drama. This sounds complicated, and it is, but all of these moving parts work together due to strong characterization, especially the cheery rookie police officer Stacie Toal. The action is vivid without being too graphic, contributing to an overall cinematic feel. While the novel comes to a satisfying conclusion, this is the first book in an anticipated trilogy. Recommended for fans of Brandon Sanderson's Reckoners series or Vicious by V. E. Schwab (2013). Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

BENJAMIN PERCY has won a Whiting Award, a Plimpton Prize, two Pushcart Prizes, an NEA fellowship, and the iHeartRadio Award for Best Scripted Podcast. He is the author of the novels The Ninth Metal, The Dark Net, The Dead Lands, Red Moon, and The Wilding, three story collections, and an essay collection, Thrill Me. He also writes Wolverine and X-Force for Marvel Comics. He lives in Minnesota with his family.

BENJAMIN PERCY has won a Whiting Award, a Plimpton Prize, two Pushcart Prizes, an NEA fellowship, and the iHeartRadio Award for Best Scripted Podcast. He is the author of the novels The Ninth Metal, The Dark Net, The Dead Lands, Red Moon, and The Wilding, three story collections, and an essay collection, Thrill Me. He also writes Wolverine and X-Force for Marvel Comics. He lives in Minnesota with his family.

Subject: Comets > Fiction.
Mines and mineral resources > Fiction.
Metals > Fiction.
Minnesota > Fiction.
FICTION / Science Fiction / Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic.
FICTION / Literary.
FICTION / Science Fiction / Alien Contact.
Comets.
Metals.
Mines and mineral resources.
Minnesota.
Genre: Novels.
Fiction.
Science fiction.
Science fiction.
Science fiction.
Novels.

Additional Resources