Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Quarantine life from cholera to COVID-19 : what pandemics teach us about parenting, work, life, and communities from the 1700s to today / Kari Nixon, PhD.

Nixon, Kari, (author.).

Available copies

  • 0 of 1 copy available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

1 current hold with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Detroit Lakes Public Library 614.49 NIX (Text) 33500013421375 New On holds shelf -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781982172466
  • ISBN: 1982172460
  • Physical Description: xxv, 277 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First Tiller Press hardcover edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Tiller Press, [2021]

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references (pages 221-262) and index.
Summary, etc.:
"For readers of Mary Roach and Adam Diamond, an innovative look at the histories of different epidemics and what it meant for society, alongside what lessons different diseases have to teach us as society battles the novel Coronavirus"-- Provided by publisher.
Author Notes

Kari Nixon is a professor specializing in social reactions to infectious diseases. She works at Whitworth University, where she teaches about social responses to contagion and quarantine in medical humanities and Victorian literature courses. Her work on public health has been published for lay audiences in HuffPost, YES! Magazine, and CNN. Her academic book, Kept From All Contagion: Germ Theory, Disease, and the Dilemma of Human Contact, was published by SUNY University Press, and tracks the social history of humankind&;s responses to disease in Victorian literature and popular culture. She regularly teaches about zombies, medical ethics, the problematic pressures on the health care system, and social justice issues for marginalized races and genders. She has edited numerous books on diseases in society.

Subject: Epidemics > History.
Epidemics > Economic aspects.
Epidemics > Social aspects.
Quarantine.
Cholera.
COVID-19 (Disease)
Cholera.
COVID-19 (Disease)
Epidemics.
Epidemics > Economic aspects.
Epidemics > Social aspects.
Quarantine.
Genre: History.

Additional Resources