Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Bagley Public Library SF PAN (Text) 33500013593397 New Available -
Breckenridge Public Library SF PAN (Text) 33500013593389 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 0857669621
  • ISBN: 9780857669629
  • Physical Description: 390 pages ; 22 cm
  • Publisher: London : Angry Robot, [2022]

Content descriptions

General Note:
Includes first chapter of The Phlebotomist.
Summary, etc.:
A genius is abducted by an alien bounty-hunter for the location of a powerful inter-dimensional object. Trouble is, he can't remember a thing. One thing he knows is the location of the Chime. What it is or why it's important, he can't say. But this knowledge is about to get him in a whole heap of trouble, as a trash-talking, flesh construct bounty hunter is on his tail and looking to sell him to the highest bidder.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2022 February #2
    Panatier's second novel (following The Phlebotomist, 2020) impresses with a touching exploration of what sentient beings owe to one another nestled into a rip-roaring space adventure and punctuated by sophomoric humor. Ben knows the Chime is important. What it actually is and what it has to do with Ben's mysterious, unearned encyclopedic knowledge of insect sex and watchmaking are the questions that have driven him his whole life. When Ben arranges a meeting with a stranger promising answers, he finally learns he is a "stringer" whose consciousness houses the knowledge and memories of a string of other entities who lived before him. It's too bad this information is delivered by the alien bounty hunter who has just abducted him along with his steadfast stoner best friend, Patton, and a hapless jar of pickles. Panatier combines humor, action, and a memorable cast of characters to deliver a read perfect for fans of Becky Chambers who appreciate a good fart joke and fans of Douglas Adams interested in considering serious moral quandaries in between chuckles. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.
  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2022 February #2
    Panatier's second novel (following The Phlebotomist, 2020) impresses with a touching exploration of what sentient beings owe to one another nestled into a rip-roaring space adventure and punctuated by sophomoric humor. Ben knows the Chime is important. What it actually is and what it has to do with Ben's mysterious, unearned encyclopedic knowledge of insect sex and watchmaking are the questions that have driven him his whole life. When Ben arranges a meeting with a stranger promising answers, he finally learns he is a "stringer" whose consciousness houses the knowledge and memories of a string of other entities who lived before him. It's too bad this information is delivered by the alien bounty hunter who has just abducted him along with his steadfast stoner best friend, Patton, and a hapless jar of pickles. Panatier combines humor, action, and a memorable cast of characters to deliver a read perfect for fans of Becky Chambers who appreciate a good fart joke and fans of Douglas Adams interested in considering serious moral quandaries in between chuckles. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Chris Panatier lives in Dallas, Texas, with his wife, daughter, and a fluctuating herd of animals resembling dogs (one is almost certainly a goat). He writes short stories and novels, “plays” the drums, and draws album covers for metal bands. Plays himself on twitter @chrisjpanatier.

Subject: Human-alien encounters > Fiction.
Bounty hunters > Fiction.
Intellect > Fiction.
Bounty hunters.
Human-alien encounters.
Intellect.
Genre: Fiction.
Humorous fiction.
Science fiction.
Science fiction.
Humorous fiction.

Additional Resources